Dublin International Grand Prix of Race Walking

Tuesday, June 21st, 2011

Ireland’s world championship silver medallist Olive Loughnane will be looking for a confidence boosting victory in Sunday’s 18th Dublin International Grand Prix of Race Walking which takes place in the Phoenix Park starting at 9.30am.

The 35-year-old has been focussed on the IAAF World Championships in Daegu in September and has raced sparingly so far this year, cognisant of the fact that she is the ultimate championship performer and the championships take place so late in the season.

The Galway woman faces a red hot field on Sunday including China’s Liu Hong who won the bronze medal behind Loughnane at the 2009 World Championships in Berlin and her team mate He Qin who is the world junior silver medallist from 2010. Alongside, the Commonwealth Games silver medallist Claire Tallent has made the long journey over from Australia looking for a victory.

Laura Reynolds will do 10km of the event as part of her preparation for the European U23 Championships a few weeks later.

Ireland’s most prolific walker of the last number of years Robert Heffernan will be looking for a victory on home soil but he too will be faced with a field or true world class proportions with athletes from 22 countries in a 50 plus strong field in the 20km.

Fourth in both the European 20km and 50km championships last season, Heffernan has been a model of consistency in recent years and the event will play a big part in his fine tuning for Daegu at the end of August. His Olympian Jamie Costin hopes to do 10km on his return from injury and Brendan Boyce has decided to remain in his Leeds training base for the World Student Games at the end of August.

Leitrim’s Colin Griffin is taking part in the 50km in search of the A standard for the London Olympics and will be faced with competition from the Olympic gold and silver medallist from Beijing in Alex Schwazer (ITA) and Jarred Tallent (AUS).

The event is held under a European Athletics Permit, is a points scoring competition for the IAAF Challenge and incorporates the National 20km Walk Championship, an international match between Ireland, England, Switzerland, Holland and Denmark and also the Paul Nihill Shield match between Ireland and England in the juvenile age groups. This match will see Kate Veale take part in the U18 3km ahead of her attack on an IAAF World Youths medal in the middle of July.

Athletes from over 30 countries will take part in the event.

1) Senior International Grand Prix events:
(Incorporating Irish 20km Walk Championships)

Start Event Category Course Records

09h30 50km Senior Men 3.49.00 Andre Hohne (GER)
11h30 20km Senior Men 1.18.14 Nathan Deakes (AUS)
11h30 10km Junior Men 43.42 Goncalo Bejinha (POR)
11h45 20km Senior Women 1.28.06 Susana Feitor (POR)
11h45 10km Senior, Junior Women 43.29 Gillian O’Sullivan

2) Nihill Shield match (IRL v ENG Boys & Girls)

10h20 1km Girls U-12 (00 or after) 4.48 Kathryn Granger (ENG)
10h20 1km Boys U-12 (00 or after) 4.34 Luke Finch (ENG)
10h35 2km Girls U-14 (’99,’98) 9.18 Rebecca Mersh (ENG)
10h35 2km Boys U-14 (’99,’98) 8.49 Lloyd Finch (ENG)
10h50 3km Girls U-16,18 (’96,’97/94, 95) 14.06 Serena O’Keefe
10h50 3km Boys U-16 (’96,’97) 12.59 Nick Ball (ENG)
11h15 5km Boys U-18 (’94,95) & OPEN 21.46 Nick Ball (ENG)
13h50 3km IRL v ENG Vets International 13.18 Bob Care (ENG)

20km Men
Rob Heffernan (Ireland)
Jamie Costin (Ireland)
Michael Doyle (Ireland)
David Kidd (Ireland)
John Egan (Ireland)
Michael Moran (Ireland)
Paul Fitzpatrick (Ireland)
Pierre de Villiers (South Africa)
Wayne Snyman (South Africa)
Stuart Kollmorgen (Australia)
Jose Diaz (Spain)
Miguel Angel Lopez (Spain)
Alejandro Cambil (Spain)
Miguel Angel Prieto (Spain)
Francisco Arcilla (Spain)
Lukasz Nowak (Poland)
Jakub Jelonek (Poland)
Patryk Rogowski (Poland)
Nazar Kovalenko (Ukraine)
Luis Fernando Lopez (Colombia)
Arevalo Eider (Colombia)
Hassanine Sbei (Tunisia)
Emmanuel Tardi (France)
Kevin Campion (France)
Djamel Selseldeb (France)
Maik Berger (Germany)
Carsten Schmidt (Germany)
Nils Gloger (Germany)
Erick Bernabé Barrondo García (Guatamala)
Caio Oliveira de Sena Bonfim (Brazil)
Gyula Dudas (Hungary)
Andrés Chocho (Ecuador)
Eider Arevalo (Ecuador)
Jose Mauricio Sanchez Arteaga (Ecuador)
WANG Zhen (China)
Wang Hao (China)
CHEN Ding (China)
CONG Fudong (China)
ZHAO Qi (China)
Andrea Adragna (Italy)
Giorgio Rubino (Italy)
Gurmeet Singh (India)
Babubhai Keshrabhai Panucha (India)
Baljinder Singh (India)
Harminder Singh (India)
Andreas Nielsen (Denmark)
Bernard Cossy (Switzerland)
Cedric Hugi (Switzerland)
Jerome Caprice (Mauritius)
Colin Versteeg, (Netherlands)
Jacques van Bremen (Netherlands)
Harold van Beek (Netherlands)
Paul Evenett (England)
Dominic King (England)
Alex Wicks (England)
Tom Bosworth (England)
Marius Ziukas (Lithuania)
Pavel Yarokhou (Belarus)
John Constandinou (Cyprus)
Jose Mauricio Sanchez Arteaga (Ecuador)
Emerson Esnal Hernandez (El Salvador)

20km Women
Olive Loughnane (Ireland)
Laura Reynolds (Ireland)
Marie Polli (Switzerland)
Agnieszka Szwarnóg (Poland)
Agnieszka Dygacz (Poland)
Monika Kapera (Poland)
Ana Maria Groza (Romania)
Lorena Luaces (Spain)
Ainhoa Pinedo Gonzalez (Spain)
Eva María González Iglesias (Spain)
Jamy Amarilis Franco Nunez (Guatamala)
Mirna Sucely Ortíz Flores (Guatamala)
Aurélien Quinion (France)
Claire Tallent (Australia)
Viktoria Madarasz (Hungary)
Katalin Varró (Hungary)
LIU Hong (China)
HE Qin (China)
Lu Xiuzhi (China)
Christine Guinaudeau (France)
Karoliina Kaasalainen (Finland)
Neringa Aidietyte (Lithuania)
Sandra Maas (Netherlands)
Liesbeth van Leeuwen (Netherlands)
Liesbet De Smet (Belgium)
Julie Drake (England)
Karen Weirs (England)
Agnieszka Dygacz (Poland)

50KM Men

Colin Griffin (Ireland)
Alex Schwazer (Italy)
Diego Cafanga (Italy)
Jarred Tallent (Australia)
Herve Davaux (France)
Eddy Roze (France)
Dan King (Great Britain)
Ed Shillabeer (Great Britain)
Maciej Rosiewicz (Poland)
Hatem Ghoula (Tunisia)
Rodrigo Moreno (Colombia)
Anibal Eduardo Paau (Guatamala)
Jaime Daniel Quiyuch Castañeda (Guatamala)
Mango Mesias Zapata Pacheco (Ecuador)
Marc Mundell (South Africa)
Jaime Rolando Saquipay Pani (Ecuador)
Fausto Vicente Quinde Viscaino (Ecuador)
Antti Kempas (Finland)
Chandan Singh (India)
Basanta Bahadur Rana (India)
LI Jianbo (China)
SI Tianfeng (China)
Robert Tubak (Hungary)


http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/digg_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/reddit_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/stumbleupon_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/delicious_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/newsvine_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/technorati_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/google_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/myspace_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/facebook_48.png http://www.athleticsireland.ie/content/wp-content/plugins/sociofluid/images/twitter_48.png

Road Races and Events

Samsung Run Cork 10k
Samsung Run Dublin 10k
Rock N Roll Series Dublin
St Patricks Festival 5k
Northwest 10K
ait booking
laura lynn
Strabane Lifford Half Marathon
Ramble Aid
© 1996-2012 - Athletic Association of Ireland