CBS Schools Cross-Country

Thursday, November 29th, 2012

The CBS Schools Cross-Country took place in ALSAA, Dublin Airport on the 28th November. Thomas Lynn of Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar produced a model of controlled running to win the senior race at the CBS Schools’ Cross Country in the ALSAA, Dublin Airport yesterday.

On a perfect day for running with the sun beaming overhead, the soggy underfoot took its toll as the four laps of the 5.5 km race progressed. From the start, Lynn was part of a breakaway group including Cillian Kirwan of St Fintan’s Sutton and David Mulhare from St Mary’s CBS Portlaoise.

Kirwan led on the first lap, with Lynn and Mulhare sticking close and Liam Ashton of St Aidan’s just off the pace. On the third lap, Ashton made a big effort to catch the leading trio but soon fell back.By now Kirwan was tiring and Lynn took over in front, with Mulhare following. On the final lap, he was out on his own, stretching his lead and coming home a comfortable winner. Mulhare was second, Kirwan third and Ashton fourth. With four in the top eight, Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar was first team ahead of St Aidan’s.

The boy’s U17 race had followed much the same pattern with a group of three breaking away on the first of three laps. Pushing the pace was Cathal Doyle of St Aidan’s with his team mate Adam O’Brien and Glenn Gaffney of Colaiste Mhuire among those keeping close order after a hectic start to the race.

On the second lap, Gaffney made his break, but couldn’t shake off the challenge of Doyle, who soon took over in front. Big gaps now developed and Doyle came home well clear of Gaffney and O’Brien. Brilliant packing again paid off for the Colaiste Mhuire team with their four athletes inside the top nine. St Aidan’s was second and St Fintan’s third.

St Aidan’s totally dominated the U15 race, taking the top four places. Running together for the entire race were Kevin McKenna, Sean Carrigg and Joseph Hession with McKenna taking the win after a last gasp dash for the line. St Aidan’s with just 10 points - the lowest possible - were clear team winners, followed by Colaiste Eoin Stillorgan, who just pipped St Fintan’s.

St Declan’s Cabra provided both winner and runner-up in the U14 race, with Darragh Finn beating his team mate Finbarr Bourke Power. Team winners were Colaiste Mhuire, with St Declan’s second.

In the U-13 race the long journey proved worthwhile for Sean Corry and Cathaoir Donnelly of Omagh CBS who finished first and second and helped their school to team victory.

U13: 1 Sean Corry (Omagh CBS), 2 Cathaoir Donnelly (Omagh CBS), 3 Ciaran Murphy (St Aidan’s).
Teams - 1 Omagh CBS 57, 2 St Aidan’s Whitehall 59, 3 Colaiste Phadraig Lucan 60.
U14: 1 Darragh Finn (St Declan’s), 2 Finbarr Bourke Power (St Declan’s), 3 James O’Donnell (Ard Scoil).
Teams - 1 Scoil Mhuire Mullingar 26, 2 St Declan’s Cabra 65, 3 St Aidan’s Whitehall 82.
U15: 1 Kevin McKenna (St Aidan’s), 2 Sean Carrigg (St Aidan’s), 3 Joseph Hession (St Aidan’s).
Teams - 1 St Aidan’s Whitehall 10, 2 Col Eoin Stillorgan 88, 3 St Fintan’s Sutton 90.
U17: 1 Cathal Doyle (St Aidan’s), 2 Glenn Gaffney (Col Mhuire Mullingar), 3 Adam O’Brien (St Aidan’s).
Teams - 1 Col Mhuire Mullingar 21, 2 St Aidan’s Whitehall 35, 3 St Fintan’s Sutton 54.
U19: 1 Thomas Lynn (Col Mhuire Mullingar), 2 David Mulhare (St Mary’s Portlaoise), 3 Cillian Kirwan (St Fintan’s Sutton) .
Teams - 1 Col Mhuire Mullingar 21, 2 St Aidan’s Whitehall 46, 3 Omagh CBS 65.
Best overall school (Bro Clarke Trophy): Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar

By Lindie Naughton

Road Races and Events

Samsung Run Cork 10k
Samsung Run Dublin 10k
Rock N Roll Series Dublin
St Patricks Festival 5k
Northwest 10K
ait booking
laura lynn
Strabane Lifford Half Marathon
Ramble Aid
© 1996-2012 - Athletic Association of Ireland