2nd Annual Floodlight Cross Country, CIT, December 10th 2010

The second edition of the Floodlight cross country produced yet another very exciting race on CIT's extensive sports campus. With the entries opened up to UCC alumni and CIT alumni along with friends from local clubs, old and new rivalries were to the fore early on. Diarmaid Collins (NUIG/East Cork) pushed the pace relentlessly from the off with Eoin O' Sullivan (Old CIT/Togher), Ed Murphy (Gneevegiilla) and John Shine (Leevale) in close order. However as the laps progressed it was Murphy whose strength prevailed on the run in to the finish.

In the varsity category Diarmaid Collins ultimately had 16s to spare over the ever improving Andrew Ross (CIT). Ross in-turn had an equal margin of comfort over the fast finishing Frank O' Carroll (CIT) and Gavin Downey (WIT). Due to the postponement of the event from last week UCC were unfortunately unable to field a full team with exams imminent. It looks like CIT will have to wait another few weeks before attempting to defeat their old rivals on the varsity cross country field for the first time in nearly three years.

In the women's category Sally McCarthy (UCC) was once again dominant and she regained her floodlight cross country title with over a minute to spare from Aisling Moran (UCC). The results of both races along with a few photos can be seen below.



Frank O Carroll (CIT), Gavin Downey (WIT) and Shane Maher (UCC) battle it out mid race



Aisling NGhul, Tara Rhatigan, Aisling Moran and Sally McCarthy (all UCC) post race



Gavin Downey prevailing in the WIT/CIT/UCC battle

Men 5300m

1.	Ed Murphy	Guest	17:01
2.	Eoin O' Sullivan	Old CIT	17:03
3.	Diarmaid Collins	NUIG	17:14
4.	John Shine	Guest	17:20
5.	Donal Coakley	Old UCC	17:26
6.	Andrew Ross	CIT	17:30
7.	Shane Coffey	Old UCC	17:32
8.	Pa Murphy	Guest	17:33
9.	Gavin Downey	WIT	17:48
10.	Frank O' Carroll	CIT	17:49
11.	Shane Maher	UCC	17:50
**	Paul Gallagher	Guest	17:55
12.	Kieran James	UCC	18:03
13.	Mark Nolan	Old UCC	18:08
14.	John Meade	Old UCC	18:17
15.	Conor Tierney	Old CIT	18:47
16.	Eamon Maher	CIT	18:54
17.	Alan O' Reilly	CIT	19:01
18.	Jeremy Walsh	Guest	19:15
19.	Paul Downey	CIT	19:43
20.	Declan Murphy	Old UCC	19:56
21.	Craig Harrington	CIT	20:37
22.	Eanna Farrell	CIT	20:45
23.	Kevin O' Reilly	Guest	22:36
24.	Mark O' Neill	Old CIT	27:08
	6		

** Started Late

Women 3150m

1.	Sally McCarthy	UCC	12:03
2.	Aisling Moran	UCC	13:11
3.	Tara Rhatigan	UCC	13:23
4.	Aisling Ni Ghul	UCC	13:54