Emerald Crystal Juvenile All Star Awards honours top talent in the country


Ireland's best juveniles honoured

The country’s finest young up-and-coming stars were honoured at the Emerald Crystal Juvenile All Star Awards in Tullamore Court Hotel (February 27).

 “It’s been a terrific year for our association and in particular for our juvenile athlete’s” said Athletics Ireland President Ciarán O’Catháin.

“It makes me proud to see a number of our athletes travel to major track events and be successful at the European Youth Olympic Festival in Tblisi, the World Youth Championships in Cali, Columbia and the European junior championships in Sweden” explained O’Catháin.

Guest speaker on the night, World University Games gold medallist and Irish record holder for 400 metres hurdles, Thomas Barr, encouraged the award winners to stick with athletics after their juvenile career transitions into senior athletics.

“My athletics was going well, but it was a big social thing to me and my friends were moving away from it,” explained Barr of when he completed his leaving cert and moved to college.

“I could have easily stepped away and if I had, I wouldn’t be sitting here with you now,” continued the Ferrybank star.

“I wouldn’t have had an Irish flag draped around my shoulders at the World University Games last summer and would have not been able to enjoy athletics on the world stage.

“I would ask you to stick with athletics and give yourself the best opportunity to realise your potential in athletics.”

On the night, Cushinstown A.C multi-event star, Elizabeth Morland, was awarded the Robin Sykes Award for outstanding performance in 2015.

In 2015 Morland set an Irish Youth Heptathlon record of 5612 points and equalled Sarah Lavin’s 100 metre hurdles national Youth record of 13.62 seconds.

Report courtesy of Dave Hooper and Pictures courtesy of Dan McGrath/Editorial Images

Award Winners 

Antrim - Shane Martin – Ballymena & Antrim A.C

Carlow – Bronagh Walsh – St.Laurence O’Toole A.C

Cavan – Roland Surlis – Annalee A.C

Clare – Darragh Miniter – St. Mary’s A.C

Cork – Tom Deasy – Belgooly A.C

Derry – Conall O’Neill – City of Derry Spartans A.C

Donegal – Sommer Lecky – Finn Valley A.C

Down – Craig McMeechan – North Down A.C

Dublin – Louis O’Loughlin – Donore Harriers A.C

Galway – Sinead Treacy – Craughwell A.C

Kerry – Aoife Mahony – Lios Tuathail A.C

Kildare – John Fitzsimons – Kildare A.C

Kilkenny – David Murphy – Gowran A.C

Laois – Seodhna Hoey – Portaoise A.C

Leitrim – Eoin Gaffery – Mohill A.C

Limerick – Sophie Meredith – St.Mary’s A.C

Louth – Kate O’Connor – Dundalk St. Gerards A.C

Mayo – Michaela Walsh – Swinford A.C

Meath – Elizabeth Morland – Cushinstown A.C

Monaghan – Amy Hamill – Glaslough Harriers A.C

Offaly – Jordan Hoang – Tullamore Harriers A.C

Roscommon – Shannon Quigley – Roscommon A.C

Sligo – Christopher O’Donnell – North Sligo A.C

Tipperary – Daniel Ryan – Moycarkey Coolcroo A.C

Tyrone – Sean Corry – Omagh Harriers A.C

Waterford – Neasa Murphy – Ferrybank A.C

Wexford - Marguerite Furlong – Adamstown A.C

Westmeath – Niamh Fogarty - Mullingar Harriers - now North Westmeath AC

Wicklow – Alana Ryan – Greystones & District A.C

Special Award Winners

Matt McGrath Award (Throws) – James Kelly – Finn Valley A.C – Donegal

Eamonn Gilbert Award (High Jump) – Ryan Carthy-Walsh – Adamstown A.C – Wexford

Roisin O’Callaghan Award (Walks) – Gearoid McMahon – Shannon A.C – Clare

Keara O’Hart Award (Sprints) – Ciara Neville – Emerald A.C – Limerick

Bill Battersby Award (Long Jump) – Coolcroo A.C – Tipperary

International Athlete Award – Kevin McGrath – Bohermeen A.C – Meath

Robin Sykes Achievement – Elizabeth Morland – Cushinstown A.C - Meath

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?