• Sprints Jumps Hurdles Coaches Network Day

  • Stars align at stunning schools’ champs

  • The Irish Life Health National Inter Club League is back for 2018!

  • Mageean wins in Watford; records in Oordegem, Euro Clubs

  • Athletics Ireland GDPR notification

GloHealth National Athletics Awards Nominations announced


Barr, English and Hefferan to contest Athlete of the Year

Athletics Ireland is pleased to announce the nominations for the 2015 GloHealth National Athletics. The awards will take place on Wednesday 25th of November from 12.00-3.30pm in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood. The awards ceremony is a celebration of the many successes of our athletes during 2015 and also commemorates our exceptional volunteer base who are the bedrock of our sport. Tickets for the ceremony are available to purchase now here.

Jim Dowdall, CEO of GloHealth, is delighted that they are the title sponsor of the event. "GloHealth is a proud partner of Athletics Ireland and we are delighted to sponsor the GloHealth National Athletics Awards, which is a wonderful opportunity to recognise and celebrate the successes of Ireland’s top athletes and the contribution from the athletics community throughout 2015."

Track and Field Athlete

The nominations for Track and Field Athlete of the Year are: Thomas Barr (Ferrybank AC) who won the World Universities 400m hurdles title in Gwangju, South Korea and set a new Irish 400m Hurdles record of 48.65 at the Rome Diamond League; Mark English (UCD AC) won the silver medal in the 800m at the European Athletics Indoor Championships in Prague and made the semi-finals of the World Athletics Championships; Ben Reynolds (North Down) rediscovered his form over the 110m hurdles and made the World Athletics Championships; John Travers (Donore Harriers) made the final of the 1500m at the European Indoor Athletics Championships.

Endurance Athlete

Endurance Athlete of the Year nominations are: Robert Heffernan (Togher) who put in a gallant performance defending his world 50km Race Walk title finishing 5th at the World Athletics Championships; Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole AC) who has continued her transition to the roads and finished 13th at the Chicago marathon in 2:33:15 to secure a qualifying time for the Olympics is nominated for her 7th place finish at the European Cross Country Championships leading the women to team bronze medals; Brendan Boyce (Letterkenny AC) and Alex Wright (Leevale) have continued to make inroads in the walks and both competed in the World Athletics Championships – Boyce in the 50km while Wright doubled in the 20km and 50km. 

Junior Athlete

Junior Athlete of the Year nominations are: Kevin Mulcaire (Ennis Track Club) who broke John Treacy's 5,000m record and finished 4th at the European Junior Athletics Championships; Sam Healy (Leevale) finished 5th in the long jump of the European Junior Athletics Championships, Ciara Neville (Emerald) also starred at the European Junior Athletics Championships and then struck gold over 100m at the European Youth Olympic Festival; Michaela Walsh (Swinford) 9th in the Shot Put final and 10th in the Hammer at the World Youth Championships. 

Emerging Athlete

U23 athlete of the year: Marcus Lawler (St Laurence O'Toole), Karl Griffin (UCD) and Mark English (UCD) are the contenders. Lawler made the final of the 200m at the European U23 Athletics Championships with Griffin and English making the final of the 800m.  

People's Choice & Hall of Fame

The People’s Choice Award is an exciting awards category and the closing date is October 30th.

Following on from this the 2015 Hall of Fame Inductee will be revealed.

The prestigious Athlete of the Year Award will be presented on the day and is a three way tussle between Thomas Barr, Mark English and Robert Heffernan.

Other awards presented on the night will include the Ultra Running Award, Mountain Running Award, Master Athlete of the Year, Tailteann Schools Boy and Girl Award, Team Performance of the Year and University Athlete. 

Club Awards

For the fourth year running there will be awards presented to Performance Club of the Year and Development Club of the Year.

Applications are now open for the Development Club of the Year Category, please return your Completed Form by post to Development Club of the Year, Athletics Ireland Unit 19, Northwood Court, Northwood Business Campus, Santry Dublin 9 or by email

The award ceremony also commemorates our exceptional volunteer base. In recognition of that, awards will be presented to Outstanding Coach Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award. 

Ticket Information

The ceremony will once again take the format of an Awards Luncheon. Please join us in celebrating and congratulating the awards winners. The lunch will take place from 12.30pm to 3.30pm. Please note: There is a limited amount of tickets available for purchase. The cost of the tickets is €50 per head and the dress code is smart. Tables of 10 can be purchased at €450. To purchase tickets please telephone: (01) 8869933 or book online HERE

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Sign Up

Which of the following best describes you?