Hehir’s quick turnaround for Dublin as National marathon entries are in


Hehir heads Dublin marathon entries

Rathfarnham's Sean Hehir is set for a quick turnaround for the Dublin Marathon on Bank Holiday Monday October 26th as he eyes national gold.

Hehir, who took overall victory in Dublin in 2013, ran 2:17:48 at the Berlin Marathon on September 27th and will face competition from fellow clubmate Barry Minnock and Star of the Sea's Eoin Callaghan. Callaghan finished second in the Manchester Marathon in April in 2:18:45 and most recently won the Dublin half marathon in the Phoenix Park and is the cover of the latest issue of the Irish Runner magazine. Last year's overall winner Eliud Too of Kenya is set to return and Raheny Shamrock's Freddy Kerron Sittuk, who also hails from the Rift Valley, is also on the startlist.  

In the women's race serial marathoner Pauline Curley (Tullamore Harriers) is set to take on the DSD duo of Michelle McGee and Sarah Mulligan for the national title. Curley has been a mainstay of the race but will face tough opposition. Mulligan represented Ireland in the marathon at the European Athletics Championships in Zurich in 2014. 

For a list of the national marathon entry list click here

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Sign Up

Which of the following best describes you?