Juvenile Star Awards


The young Irish stars of track& field enjoyed a great night of celebration on Saturday night last when the Emerald Crystal Star Awards Banquet took place in the Tullamore Court Hotel.

Olympian Kerry O’Flaherty was special guest on the night and she delivered an inspirational talk for the young athletes prior to the awards ceremony. Athletics Ireland President Georgina Drumm also encouraged the young athletes to make the best of their talent.

Another special guest on the night was Svein Arne Hansen, President of European Athletics, who also addressed the young athletes and their families and friends on the night.

The Emerald Crystal Star Awards Banquet brought into focus many of the outstanding young athletes – one from each county in Ireland.

Please see list of winners below:

Overall Winner: Gina Akpe-Moses

Bill Battersby Award: Elizabeth Morland

Matt McGrath Award: Michaela Walsh

Keara O'Hart Award: Aaron Sexton

Roisin O' Callaghan Award: Orla O'Conor

Eamon Gilbert Award: Sommer Lecky

Robin Sykes Award: Molly Scott

International Athlete Award: Gina Akpe Moses

Special Recognition Award: Katherine O'Connor

Breda Synott Celtic Games Awards: Aaron Sexton 

Juvenile Star Awards:

Anna McCauley

Molly Scott

Jade Williams

Darragh Miniter

Ciara Sheehy

Fintan Stewart

David Smith

Aaron Sexton

Louis O'Loughlin

Nicole King

Rachel Bolwer

Andrew Carroll

Rachel Kelly

Ruby Millet

Eoin Gaffey

Niamh Foley

Cian McPhilips

Katherine O' Connor

Aisling Joyce

Elizabeth Morland

Niamh Malone

Christopher O' Donnell

Joseph McEvoy

Sean Corry

Katie Murphy

Darragh Gaffney

Peter O'Connor

Emma O'Brien 

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?