• Sprints Jumps Hurdles Coaches Network Day

  • Stars align at stunning schools’ champs

  • The Irish Life Health National Inter Club League is back for 2018!

  • Mageean wins in Watford; records in Oordegem, Euro Clubs

  • Athletics Ireland GDPR notification

McCormack to run for Europe and Celtic teams for Edinburgh XC


McCormack to run for Team Europe

Fionnuala McCormack has been selected for Team Europe at the Great Edinburgh Cross Country on January 9th as a result of her fourth place finish at the European Cross Country Championships in Hyeres, France. She has subsequently been joined by Lizzie Lee who has been added to the European team.  

It is the annual international match between Britain, Europe and the USA, with a formalised European team selected by European Athletics, on the basis of their final individual results at the SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Hyères on Sunday 13 December.

2016 will be the 27th staging of the event which has featured some of the world’s best athletes since its inception in 1988.


There will be separate races for Senior and Junior age groups included to the programme and those will be held on the following distances:

Senior Men 8Km

Senior Women 6km

Junior Men 6km - Jack O'Leary and Kevin Mulcaire have now been selected for Team Europe. 

Junior Women 4km

There will also be a 4 x 1km relay with an Irish team consisting of John Travers, Eoin Everard, Laura Crowe and Kerry O'Flaherty. 

Following the results of the SPAR European Cross Country Championships in Hyères, the athletes selected for this year’s team Europe are (finalised team still to be confirmed):


Senior: Ali Kaya (TUR), Alemayehu Bezabeh (ESP), Adel Mechaal (ESP), Ayad Lamdassem (ESP), Ilias Fifa (ESP), Florian Carvalho (FRA), Roberto Alaiz (ESP), Yohan Durand (FRA), Carlos Mayo (ESP), Amanal Petros (GER), Djilali Bedrani (FRA), Lorenzo Dini (ITA).

Junior: Fabien Palcau (FRA), Jimmy Gressier (FRA), Mohamed-Amine El Bouajaji (FRA), Petro Riva (ITA), Yohane Chippinelli (ITA), Baptiste Mischler (FRA).


Senior: Sifan Hassan (NED), Karoline Bjerkeli Grovdal (NOR), Fionnuala McCormack (IRL), Ancuta Bobocel (ROU), Clémence Calvin (FRA), Maureen Koster (NED), Johanna Peiponen (FIN), Trihas Gebre (ESP), Louise Carton (BEL), Jip Vastenburg (NED), Amela Terzic (SRB), Viktoria Kushnir (BLR).

Junior: Konstanze Klosterhalfen (GER), Alina Reh (Germany), Célia Anton (ESP), Sarah Kistner (GER), Anne Emilie Moller (DEN), Cecile Lejeune (FRA).

In case of withdrawals, the places on Team Europe will offered to the next best athletes in each category.

Last year Team Europe finished second overall with 189 points behind the USA (121), Great Britain was third (223).

There is also a Celtic International with the following teams selected below. 

Celtic International

U23 Women's Irish Team             

Shona Heaslip    An Riocht AC

Meghan Ryan       DSD AC

Aoibhe Richardson          KCH AC

Clare McCarthy                 DSD AC

U23 Men's Irish Team   

David Scanlon    Rathfarnham AC

Kevin Kelly          St Coca’s AC

Karl Fitzmaurice                Ennis Track AC

Rick Nally             DSD AC

Junior Women's Irish Team        

Emma O'Brien  Inbhear Dee

Sophie Murphy   DSD

Niamh Carey    DSD AC

Niamh Corry    Raheny Shamrock

Junior Women's Development Team     

Alison Armstrong      Dublin City Harriers

Lauren Dermody      Castlecomer

Aisling Kelly        St Johns AC

Fiona Everard    Bandon AC

Junior Men's Irish Team               

Pierre Murchan  Dublin City Harriers

Peter Lynch        KCH AC

Brian Flanagan       Clonliffe Harriers AC

Cathal Doyle       Clonliffe Harriers AC

Junior Men's Development Team            

Paul O'Donnell                DSD AC

Damian O'Boyle          Craughwell AC

Evan Byrne          Togher AC

Shane Hughes   Mullingar Harriers AC

Girls U17's Irish Team    

Amy Rose Farrell              Blackrock AC (Dublin)

Claire Rafter       Tullamore AC

Abigail Taylor     DSD AC

Roseanne McCullough   DSD AC

Boys U17's Irish Team   

Darragh McElhinney       Bantry AC 

James Battle      Mullingar Harriers AC

Louis O’Loughlin               Donore Harriers AC

Donal Devane    Ennis Track AC

Girls U17's Development Team 

Aoife Darby        Mullingar Harriers AC

Amy O’Brien      Inbhear Dee AC

Annie McEvoy   Kilkenny City Harriers AC

Grace Dervan    DSD AC

Boys U17's Development Team

Cian Kelly             St Abbans AC

Jack Moran         Mullingar Harriers AC

Adam Fitzpatrick              Kilkenny City Harriers AC

Damien Madigan              North Cork AC

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Sign Up

Which of the following best describes you?