Clohisey charges to another title at Irish Runner 5


Clohisey delivers once more

Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock) charged to another national title at the Irish Runner 5 mile in 24:02 while Sally Forristal (St Joseph’s AC) won her first in 29:27 in the Phoenix Park today (June 15).

Clohisey has umpteen national titles and was back on the winner’s rostrum seven weeks after competing at the London marathon. Not too far behind was Colin Maher (Ballyfin) in 24:52 and Emmet Jennings (DSD) in 25:04.

Just further adrift was Mark McKinstry in 25:10 and first M35 leading a great day for North Belfast Harriers with Eamon White first M50 in 26:21 and David Clarke first M55 in 27:49. Capping an excellent outing for the Stags was their second place finish in the men’s team event which was won by Raheny Shamrck. Liffey Valley were third.

The women’s race was wide open with no clear favourite on the start line and a brand new national champion was set to be crowned. Sally Forristal came out on top in 29:27 followed by Aine O'Reilly (Mullingar Harriers A.C.) in 30:21 and Catherine O'Connor (Sli Cualann A.C.) in 30:40.   

Zoe Quinn (Raheny Shamrock) was first F40 31:30 with other notable performers in Florence Curley (Donore Harriers) winning the F45 in 32:32, Niamh O’Sullivan (An Riocht) the F55 in 31:53 and Ann Sullivan (DMP) the F60 in 33:44.                

Raheny Shamrock won the women’s team prize followed by Sli Cualann and Civil Service.

Full results are HERE

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?