First & Third place finishes for Ratoath A.C in the AAI National League D1


The AAI National League Division 1 took place yesterday, Sunday 22nd August in Tullamore Harriers Stadium and we were joined by 13 teams from all over the country. Well done to all particiapnts who took part.

Division 1 Men: Results

Shane Aston racked up a number of team points for Ratoath A.C, winning both the Men's 110mH and Javelin throw. Ratoath A.C went on to win 3 more events, 1500m won by Philip Brown, the 800m was won by Peter Kilgannon and Robert Higgins took the win in the men's Hammer throw. The Ratoath A.C team had some very consistant and impressive performances by all the teamwhich won them the gold medal in Division 1. Leevale AC put the challenge up to them, being only 4 points in total behind the winners, finishing in second place. Leevale had some great wins in the Men's relays, the 4x100m won by Colin Murphy, Colin Doyle, Scott Gibson and James Ezeonu and again in the 4x400m ran by Colin Doyle, Scott Gibson, Ciaran Dee and Matthew Murnane. They also had some great sucess in the sprints, Colin Doyle took the win the Men's 100m and Scott Gibson lead the field home in the men's 200m. Galway County finished in 3rd place in the division and were very impressive in the distance races. Edris Abas took the win for Galway County in the Men's 3000m S/C and a little later on Willian Fitzgearld won his 5000m race, finishing well over a minute ahead of the rest of the field. 

Division 1 Women: Results

Sligo County topped the Division 1 leader board with 118 points in total.They had a massive 6 wins throughout the day, 8 on track and one in the field. Ellen Kilcoyne, Erin Taheny, Amy Boland and Lauren Cadden took max points in the Womens 4x100m relay. Relay teammates Erin Taheny and Lauren Cadden took the womens Women 200m and 400m Sprint titles respectively. The girls went on to win their second relay win of the day in the women's 4x400m race, Amy Boland, Lauren Cadden, Erin Tahney and Caoimhe McDonagh being made up the winning team. Aoife Kilgallen won the women's 3000m race, gaining the team another 9 points and in the field Kate Hosey jumped 5.34 to win the Women's Long Jump. Meath County finished second place on the table, 13 points behind the winners. Deirdre Murray won the Women's 400mH in 59.33, while Sarah Clarke took the win for Meath County in the 800m. They had an excellent day in the field winning 4 events in total. Amy Callaghan jumped her way to victory in the women's high jump event and again in the Javelin where she threw a best throw of 31.05. Karen Dunne threw 9.49 in the Shot Put to win her event and Jean Daly took the Women's WD title. Ratoath A.C continued their sucess from the Men's division, to the women's where they took the bronze medal. They had many consistant and impressive performances throughout the day from a number of their team members, 8 third place performances and 4 second place finishes, racking up 93 points in total.

Full results are available HERE.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?