The AAI National Outdoor League Final took place today (August 13th) with Leevale (Men) and Dundrum South Dublin (Women) claiming the premier titles, while Raheny Shamrock (Men) and hosts Tullamore Harriers (Women) finished in top spot in the division 1 finals.  

League Final Men

Leevale managed to stop Clonliffe’s drive for 8-in-a-row in the premier competition, collecting their first national league title since 2014 with a team packed with some of Ireland most exciting young talent.

Conor Morey clocked 10.76 in the 100m for maximum points, while James Ezeonu did the business over the short hurdles to cross in first place in 14.39.

Morey and Ezeonu joined Colin Doyle and Scott Gibson in the Leevale 4x100m team who posted a blistering National Club Record of 40.50 NCR.

Reece Ademola showed his vertical jump talent with a best of 2.10m in the high jump for maximum points, while expectedly also coming in with the day’s longest jump with a best of 7.59m.

Clonliffe had plenty of strength in depth and that shone through in a valiant attempt at defending their title.

The consistency of performance from Conliffe’s athletes, coupled with impressive wins from Brian Gregan (400m 47.94), Eoin Sheridan (Discuss 52.87m), and Rory Gunning (javelin 50.92m) meant Leevale would be pushed all the way.

Ratoath claimed a superb third place finish with a win in the 4x400m, underlining their ongoing development of relay within the club.

Premier Men Result:

  1. Leevale AC
  2. Clonliffe Harriers
  3. Ratoath AC

The D1 title looked competitive on paper but a stunning display from Raheny saw them pick up nine wins across the day, headlined by Mark Smyth’s sprinkling of star power in the 100m (10.57) and 200m (20.77).

Cillian Kirwan was another to impress on Raheny’s run to top spot, picking up maximum points in the 1500m (3:57.73) and 800m (1:56.52).

Stephen Fay continued the family’s great season over the 5,000m distance, claiming 9 points for this year’s champions in a great tussle with Emmet Jennings for a winning time of 14:48.59.

Division 1 Men Result:

  1. Raheny Shamrock AC
  2. Ennis Track Club
  3. DSD AC

League Final Women

Dundrum South Dublin retained their premier title with six wins contributing to their victory over second place Clonliffe.  

Mollie O'Reilly led the charge from the front with a winning run in the 100m (11.58), while Molly Hourihan followed up in the 200m with a winning 24.40.

Leevale pipped a strong Clonliffe team for second place with Una Brice’s win in the pole vault (3.35m) proving a decisive event.

Clonliffe brought the fight throughout the day, led by Jessica Tappin who picked up maximum points over the short and long hurdles in the 100mH (14.02) and 400mH (58.58). The national 400mH champion also managed to pick up an additional 7 points in the shot put (11.30m), finishing second to Raheny’s Valentia Marzari Martens 12.65m.

Premier Women Result:

  1. Dundrum South Dublin AC
  2. Leevale AC
  3. Clonliffe Harriers

The women’s D1 title looked the most open of today’s finals and it was hosts Tullamore Harriers who came out on top in a toe-to-toe dual with Lagan Valley for top spot. Tullamore performed superbly in today’s relays, while Niamh O'Connor played a starring role to pick up maximum points in the 3,000m and 1500m.  

Lucy Champ secured vital points for the hosts in the 100m in 12.74, while Katie Deverell (HJ) 1.55 and Moya Leydon (discuss) 25.30 picked up superb wins in ultra-competitive events.

Laura Frey was the standout athlete in Lagan Valley’s drive to second place, looking impressive in her wins in both the 400mH (1:04.14) and 800m (2:21.09).

Tír Chonaill AC backed up last year’s performance to claim another podium finish with Geradline Stewart claiming her second within 24 hours with a best of 10.75m in the shot put.

Division 1 Women Result:

  1. Tullamore Harriers
  2. Lagan Valley AC
  3. Tir Chonaill AC

There were a host of impressive performances for the counties including that of recent European U20 athlete Avril Millerick who claimed top spot for East Cork in the 3,000m in 9:59.44.

Katie Bergin (Tipperary County) continued her outstanding season to finish first in the 100m (11.86) and 200m (23.83), while Galway’s up-and-coming-stars Sean Doggett (400m in 50.75) and Liam Shaw (Shot 14.04 & discuss 40.22) helped them to top spot in the men's event.

County Results:

  1. Galway County Men
  2. Kildare County Men
  3. Sligo County Men


  1. East Cork Women
  2. Tipperary County Women
  3. Galway County Women

Full results here

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?