Poignant Adams victory illuminates exciting national indoors


Poignant Adams victory illuminates exciting national indoors

Dean Adams (Ballymena & Antrim) brought out all that is good in sport with a poignant 60m victory at the Irish Life Health National Indoor Athletics Championships today (March 1).

Adams took a consummate victory in a swift 6.74 seconds but it was about a lot more than that as he marked the first year of the Craig Lynch Cup in honour of the recently bereaved sprinter.

It was an emotional victory for the Ballymena sprinter who was brought to tears in honour of Lynch and then unfortunately also another close friend who passed away in recent weeks. It was a special moment to witness the cup being presented and on the back of his race number he had “Lynch #justrace” in a gesture to the man on his competitive philosophy. Full results are HERE

The big screen in the Sport Ireland National Indoor Arena showed Craig Lynch winning the national 60m title in 2016 and then a commemorative picture before the final. Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock) pipped Conor Morey (Leevale) for second in 6.84 to 6.85.

Ciara Neville (Emerald) won a classy women’s 60m in 7.30 matching the Irish U23 record ahead of the Healy sisters. Joan Healy (Leevale) finished second in 7.33 ahead of Phil (Bandon) in 7.36.

There was plenty of moments to savour on day 2 of the championships with John Travers (Donore Harriers) winning the 3,000m in 8:00.96 and Andrew Coscoran (Star of the Sea) a dominant winner in the men’s 1500m in a new championship record of 3:41.36 that could provide valuable world ranking points. Louise Shanahan (Leevale) won a tactical women's 1500m in 4:40.45. 

The 400m provided the anticipated excitement in confined quarters of the 200m track. Sophie Becker (St Joseph’s) edged Sharlene Mawdsley (Nepwort) in 53.75 to 54.10.

2020 Intervarsities and U23 Champion Cathal Crosbie (Ennis Track) stormed to the men’s 400m in one of the races of the day. Crosbie posted a winning time of 47.93 to hold off two experienced athletes in Andrew Mellon (Crusaders 48.02) and Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) who came home in in 48.21. It was an exciting dash for the break which Crosbie won. Gregan was poised but didn’t have it in the legs after a lengthy injury absence from competition.

The 800m showed two different tactics pay off to perfection. Nadia Power (DCH) made a decisive move at 400m to win in 2:06.26 from Iseult O’Donnell (Raheny Shamrock) who led the chasing pack in 2:07.07.

Mark English (UCD) must be running out of storage space in his trophy cabinet and the Donegal man waited until the last 200m to oust the front-running tactics of Zak Curran (DSD) in 1:49.09 to 1:50.19.

Sarah Quinn (St Colman’s South Mayo) and Gerard O’Donnell (Carrick on Shannon) were convincing winners of their respective 60m hurdles races in 8.32 and 7.95.

In the field Ariel Lieghio (Clonliffe Harriers) won the women’s pole vault with 3.95m while Saragh Buggy (St Abban’s) made it a horizontal jumps double winning her favoured triple jump in 12.80m.

David Cussen (Old Abbey) won the men’s high jump with a best leap of 2.08m. Keith Marks (Clonliffe Harriers) had a good victory in the men’s long jump in 7.33m.  

There was a family double for the Finn Valley pair of John and James Kelly in the men’s shot put. John came out on top in a good 18.35m with James second in 15.47m. 

The 4x200m relays rounded out an entertaining two days of action with Leevale coming out on top in the women’s in 1:42.26 with Emerald running a national club record to win the men’s in 1:28.18

Top 3 Results



Ciara Neville (Emerald) 7.30, 2. Joan Healy (Leevale) 7.33, 3. Phil Healy (Bandon) 7.36


Phil Healy (Bandon) 23.16, 2. Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght) 24.08, 3. Catherine McManus (Dublin City Harriers) 24.31


Sophie Becker (St Joseph’s) 53.75, 2. Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport) 54.10, 3. Nicole Walsh (Galway City Harriers) 55.21


Nadia Power (DCH) 2:06.26, 2. Iseult O’Donnell (Raheny Shamrock) 2:07.07, 3. Claire Mooney (UCD) 2:08.06


Louise Shanahan (Leevale) 4:40.45, 2. Ciara Everard (UCD) 4:40.78, 3. Amy O’Donoghue (Emerald) 4:42.44


1. Ciara Wilson (D.M.P. A.C.) 9:35.67, 2.  Niamh Allen (Crusaders A.C.) 9:47.78, 3. Niamh Kearney (Sli Cualann A.C.) 9:48.30

3,000m race walk

1. Kate Veale (West Waterford A.C.) 14:47.05, 2. Veronica Burke (Ballinasloe and District) 14:54.68, 3. Sarah Glennon (Mullingar Harriers A.C.)               14:56.38

60m hurdles

Sarah Quinn (St Colman’s South Mayo) 8.32, 2. Kate Doherty (DSD) 8.42, 3. Lily-Ann O’Hora (Dooneen) 8.46

4x200m relay

Leevale 1:42.26, 2. Dublin City Harriers 1:42.48, 3. Tallaght 1:42.76

Pole vault

Ariel Lieghio (Clonliffe Harriers) 3.95m, 2. Ellen McCartney (City of Lisburn) 3.85m, 3. Clodagh Walsh (Abbey Striders) 3.55m

High jump

Pippa Rogan (Sli Cualann), 1. Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley) 1.75m, 3. Daena Kealy (St Abban’s), 3. Shannon Sheehy (Clonliffe Harriers) 1.70m

Long jump

Saragh Buggy (St. Abbans A.C.) 6.05m, 2. Sarah McCarthy (Mid Sutton A.C.) 5.87m, 3. Jennifer Hanrahan (Tallaght A.C.) 5.71m

Triple Jump

Saragh Buggy (St Abban’s) 12.80m, 2. Grace Furlong (Waterford) 12.15m, 3. Kim O’Hare (Raheny Shamrock) 11.60m

Shot Put

Michaela Walsh (Swinford A.C.) 14.37m, 2.   Casey Mulvey (Inny Vale A.C.) 13.06m, 3. Ciara Sheehy (Emerald A.C.) 13.03m



Dean Adams (Ballymena & Antrim) 6.74, 2. Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock) 6.84, 3. Conor Morey (Leevale) 6.85


1. Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock A.C.) 21.04, 2.                Paul McDermott (Donore Harriers) 21.73, 3. Robert McDonnell (Galway City Harriers A.C.) 22.06


Cathal Crosbie (Ennis Track) 47.93, 2. Andrew Mellon (Crusaders) 48.02, 3. Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers) 48.21


Mark English (UCD) 1:49.09, 2. Zak Curran (DSD) 1:50.19, 3. Conor Duncan (Ratoath) 1:50.73


Andrew Coscoran (Star of the Sea) 3:41.36, Brian Fay (Raheny Shamrock) 3:43.13, Eoin Pierce (Clonliffe Harriers) 3:45.35


John Travers (Donore Harriers) 8:00.96, 2. Hiko Tonosa (DSD) 8:03.55, 3. Darragh McElhinney (UCD) 8:06.18

5,000m race walk            

1. David Kenny (Farranfore Maine Valley A.C.) 19:45.97,  2. Brendan Boyce (Finn Valley A.C.) 20:07.52       

60m hurdles

Gerard O’Donnell (Carrick on Shannon) 7.95, 2. Shane Aston (Trim) 8.40, 3. Rolus Olusa (Clonliffe Harriers) 8.43

4x200m relay

Emerald 1:28.18, 2. Tallaght 1:28.51, 3. Galway City Harriers 1:31.29

Pole vault

1. Sean Roth (Dundrum South Dublin A.C.) 4.90m, 2. Yuri Kanash (West Waterford A.C.) 4.65m, 3. Peter Glass (Letterkenny A.C.)           4.55m   

High jump

David Cussen (Old Abbey) 2.08m, 2. Ciaran Connolly (Le Cheile) 2.05m, 3. Geoffrey Joy O’Regan (Sun Hill Harriers) 1.95m

Long jump

Keith Marks (Clonliffe Harriers) 7.33m, 2. Ben Fisher (City of Lisburn) 7.17m, 3. Adam McMullen (Crusaders) 7.12m

Triple jump

1. Antony Daffurn (S.R.L. A.C.) 14.79m, 2. Mark Burton (City of Lisburn A.C.) 14.77m, 3. Abraham Miyares-Cuesta (Athlone IT A.C.) 14.71m               

Shot put

John Kelly (Finn Valley) 18.35m, 2. James Kelly (Finn Valley) 15.47m, 3. Sean Carolan (Nenagh Olympic) 13.40m

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?