Schools International Team Announced


A 32 strong Irish team has been announced for the SIAB Schools International Cross Country which takes place in Santry Demesne on Saturday, 21st of March. The Irish team will take on athletes from England, Scotland and Wales in what is set to be a thrilling day of cross country racing. The teams were picked based on the impressive performances at the GloHealth All Ireland Schools Cross Country Championships which took place in Clongowes Wood College on the 7th of March.


Caoimhe Harrington (Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai) has fond memories from last year’s schools international in Bolton as she ran out the winner in the junior race. Harrington who has stepped up to the intermediate category this year impressively won the title in that age category in Clongowes. Niamh Ni Chiardha (Colaiste Iosagain) and Jodie McCann (Rathdown School) join Harrington on the team after placing second and third respectively at the All-Irelands (see full team below)

James Edgar (Friends’ School Lisburn) a relative newcomer to this level of competition showed his class at the All-Irelands after an impressive surge over the final lap to claim the title. Edgar will spearhead the intermediate boys’ team and will be joined by Cormac Dalton (St Josephs Rochfortbridge) and Eoin McCann (Rathmore Grammer School, Belfast) (see full team below).


There was a tremendous battle between Sarah Healy (Holy Child, Killiney) and Amy Rose Farrell (Mount Anville) in the junior girl’s race in Clongowes. Healy proved the stronger of the two on that occasion as she unleashed an impressive turn of speed over the final 400m. Both athletes will make their debuts at a competition of this level in Santry on Saturday (see full team below).

In stark contrast Darragh McElhinney (Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai) led the junior boy’s race from gun to tape on route to All-Ireland success. McElhinney made the brave decision to set a fast early pace in Clongowes and was rewarded with a place on the international team. Jack Moran (Colaiste Mhuire) and Oisin Lyons (Calasanctius College) will join McElhinney on the team after strong performance at the All-Ireland finals (see full team below)


The action begins at 1pm with the junior girl’s race and concludes with the intermediate boy’s race at 2.15pm


Irish Team

Intermediate Girls Intermediate Boys
Caoimhe Harrington (Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai) James Edgar (Friends School Lisburn)
Niamh Ni Chiardha (Colaiste Iosagain) Cormac Dalton (St Josephs)
Jodie McCann (Rathdown School) Eoin McCann (Rathmore Grammer)
Sophie Murphy (Mount Anville) Aaron Doherty (Rice College)
Avril Deegan (Presentation Thurles) Alan Monahan (St Pats Navan)
Aisling Kelly (St Josephs) Michael Power (St Augustine's College)
Siobhra O'Flaherty (St Leo's College) Patrick McNiff (Banbridge Academy)
Eimear Fitzpatrick (Our Lady's Terenure) Patrick Maher (Dunshaughlin CC)
Junior Girls Junior Boys
Sarah Healy (Holy Child Killiney) Darragh McElhinney (Colaiste Pobail Bheanntrai)
Amy Rose Farrell (Mount Anville) Jack Moran (Colaiste Mhuire, Mullingar)
Olivia Nelson (Strathearn School) Oisin Lyons (Calasanctius College)
Enya Haigney (Loreto Grammer School) Peter Murray (St Colman's Newry)
Niamh Carr (Loreto College) Fathi Aden (Synge Street CBS)
Abbie Taylor (St Geards School) Alex Boyd (Regent House)
Jennifer Cotter (Coachford College) Kasper Kapturkiewicz (Colaiste Choilm)
Molly Brown (Castleknock CC) Fred Crowley (Thurles CBS)

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?