2019 European Mountain Running Championship


The 2019 European Mountain Running Championship was organised by Swiss Athletics in the scenic Alpine town of Zermatt, in the shadow of the Matterhorn - the very location of Ireland's first and only World gold medal in 1991, won by John Lenihan.

A 15-strong squad of athletes competing both at Junior and Senior, men and women's categories was selected for the Championship.  Sarah McCormack (Clonliffe Harriers AC) topped the Irish women's results, finishing in 16th, while Zak Hanna (Newcastle AC) lead the senior men's results finishing in a very respectable 19th. Aoife Coffey and Ronain Maguire were best of the Irish Junior women and men respectively.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?