AIT International Grand Prix 2020


Tickets are available HERE

Mens 60m

Return of SU Bingtian (CHN) who will open his season in AIT and will no doubt be looking for a sub 6.50 clocking and a world leading time. He goes against a quickly improving Yunier Perez (ESP) who has a PB of 6.49. British 100m Champion Ojie Edoburun will make his AIT debut along with British Indoor 60m Champion, Dominic Ashwell both of whom will be looking for fast times and ranking points to qualify for the World Indoor Champs.


Mens 400m

Thomas Barr faces a tough race against three time World & European Indoor Champion Pavel Maslak (CZE). Last years winner and Euro Indoor Champs bronze medallist Tony Van Diepen (NED) also returns.


Mens 600m

A duel of the 400m, 400mH and 800m athletes as they face off over this unfamiliar distance. Former World Champion over the hurdles Dai Greene (GBR), former European 400m Champion Martyn Rooney (GBR) are the experienced athletes who will look to get one over on the younger upstarts who include Guy Learmonth (GBR), Elliot Giles (GBR), Zak Curran (IRE) and European medallist and home crowd favourite Mark English.


Mens Mile

Current World Indoor Champion over 1500m and world record holder Samuel Tefera (ETH) opens his 2020 campaign with an attempt at the world indoor mile record (3:47.01). In this fast race it will be interesting to see how young Irish talent Darragh McElhinney, who took bronze at last summers Euro U20 Champs, will perform.


Mens PV

A strong event as the current national champions of Norway, Netherlands, Great Britain and Finland go up against a returning to form Shawn Barber (CAN), the 2015 World Champion with a best of 6.00m indoors.


Womens 60m

The absolute best of Irish sprint talent line up in the 60m, Gina Akpe Moses, Lauren Roy, Sarah Quinn, Molly Scott, Ciara Neville, Joan Healy, Rhasidat Adeleke and Niamh Whelan will line up against former European Indoor Champion and current Euro Indoor bronze medallist Asha Philip (GBR), Spanish 60m Champion Estela Garcia and European U23 200m Champion Sindija Buksa (LAT).


Womens 200m

Phil Healy (IRE) leads the line in the 200m as she looks to secure important ranking points for the World Indoor Champs and Olympic Games. National 200m Champions also competing include Jessica Bianca-Wessoly (GER), Estela Garcia (ESP) and Nicky Van Leuveren (NED).


Womens 800m

A fast 800m is in store here as Euro Champion, Commonwealth Games medallist and Diamond League winner Lynsey Sharp (GBR) competes against Olympic Games 5th placer Joanna Jozwik who also holds the fastest 800m PB in the field with 1:57.37. Euro U23 Champs bronze medallist Nadia Power (IRE), Adelle Tracey (GBR) and Mari Smith round out the field.


Womens 3000m

The race will be set up for Ciara Mageean to chase an Irish indoor record, currently held by Mary Cullen with 8:43. Ethiopian 3000m Champion Kasanesh Buze will push Mageean hard for the win along with Camille Buscomb (NZL), Kriistina Maki (CZE) and Rosie Clarke all of whom are sub 8:55 athletes.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?