Clohisey and Ross claim National Marathon Titles

Clohisey and Ross claim National Marathon Titles


Olympian Mick Clohisey of Raheny Shamrock AC and Fionnuala Ross of Armagh AC have claimed the 2021 National Marathon titles, with both athletes crossing the line in first place in their respective races at the Belfast City Marathon this morning.

Clohisey, who represented Ireland at Rio in 2016 had built up a clear advantage at halfway and didn’t relinquish the lead, going on to finish in a time of 2:20.42 to claim back the championship title he had won in 2018. Kyle Doherty (City of Derry) claimed silver, crossing in 2.22.48 while Colin Heron takes bronze with a 2.27.25.

Armagh runner Fionnuala Ross continued her brilliant form, backing up her Antrim Coast performance to take the women's race and national honours in a time of 2:43.43. Ciara Hicky (Brothers Peasrse) and Glady Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers) pushed the Armagh athlete for much of the race, eventually settling for second and third respectively.

2021 National Marathon Championship Result:

1.    Mick Clohisey Raheny Shamrock AC 2.20.42
2.    Kyle Doherty City of Derry AC 2.22.48
3.    Colin Heron Keep Er Lit Running 2.27.25

1.    Fionnuala Ross Armagh AC 2.43.43
2.    Ciara Hickey Brothers Pearse AC 2.44.40
3.    Gladys Ganiel North Belfast Harriers 2.45.03

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?