Mick Clohisey (Raheny Shamrock AC) and Ciara Toner (City of Derry Spartans) secured their respective national 10 mile titles at a blisteringly hot Irish Runner 10 Mile in the Phoenix Park this morning (July 10th).

Clohisey was pushed all the way for the men’s title by Eskander Turki (Annadale  Striders), with the Raheny Shamrock athlete finding more on the final home straight to cross in 00.51.03, adding another national title to the 10k title he picked up earlier this year.  Sean Doyle of North Cork AC ran a super race to claim bronze in 00:51:43.

Ciara Toner (City of Derry Spartans) claimed her first national title (01:00:26), storming clear in the women’s race to cross in 01.00.26. Toner left everything out there and had opened up an over 30 second gap to Donore’s Niamh Clifford (01:01:01) crossing the line. Toner’s attention will now turn to marathon preparation for the remainder of the year. Sorcha Loughnane completed claimed bronze in 01:01:17, securing another podium place for Donore Harriers.

A full list of team results will be made official later this week.

Lead Results:

Senior Men

  1. Mick CLOHISEY 00:51:03 Raheny Shamrock A.C.
  2. Eskander TURKI 00:51:08 Anndale Striders
  3. Sean DOYLE 00:51:43 North Cork A.C.

Senior Women

  1. Ciara TONER 01:00:26 City of Derry Spartans
  2. Niamh CLIFFORD  01:01:01 Donore Harriers
  3. Sorcha LOUGHNANE  01:01:17 Donore Harriers
Provisional Team Results:

M +35

  1. Donore Harriers M35+   99
  2. Raheny Shamrock M35+               167
  3. Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. M35+       172


  1. Sli Cualann A.C. F35+      81
  2. Raheny Shamrock F35+ 153
  3. Lucan Harriers F35+        157


  1. Omagh Harriers M50+    88
  2. Inishowen A.C. M50+     117
  3. Mullingar Harriers M50+              216


  1. Mullingar Harriers F50+        96
  2. Sportsworld F50+    188

Click HERE for full results

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?