First National Marathon Titles for Hoare and McGuire

First National Marathon Titles for Hoare and McGuire


Martin Hoare of Celbridge AC and Courtney McGuire (Clonmel AC) have both claimed their first AAI National Marathon Championship title at the 2022 Irish Life Dublin Marathon this morning (October 30th).

Hoare finished with a seventh place finish overall in 2:20:22. While McGuire was the third Women home finishing with a very impressive time of 2:32:52.

Earlier this year the Celbridge athlete was the second man home on the Irish team, at the Rotterdam Marathon, finishing in 26th position with a time of 2:20.31. He also took third place overall in the Dublin Half Marathon last month. He has described today as a fairytale, ‘“It’s still sinking in to be honest. I can’t really believe it, it’s a fairytale”.

Conor Gallagher (St. Malachy’s AC) took second place in 2:22:57, having ran a strong race from the start and Sean Hehir (Croghan AC), who won the event back in 2013 and 2015, placed third in 2:24:19.

Courtney McGuire (Clonmel) ran an impressive run of 2:32.52 to win her first ever marathon and first National marathon title. She only made the decision to run the Marathon two months prior. She commented after the race saying “It feels amazing. Bit overwhelmed at the moment but I’m sure it’ll hit later. Delighted”.

Ann-Maire McGlynn (Letterkenny) had to settle for second running just outside her PB, in 2:33:47 with Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers) third in 2:42:17.


Interviews with the winners are on Facebook HERE, Twitter HERE and Instagram HERE.


Taoufik Allam of Morocco took the overall win at the Irish Life Dublin Marathon in an impressive time of 2:11:30. He battled it out from the start with Ashenafi Boja (Ethiopia) and Birhanu Teshome (Ethiopia)who finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

While in the Women’s, Nigist Muluneh (Ethiopia) won in 2:28.32 which was over a minute clear of her teammate Hawi Alemu Negeri (Ethiopia) who placed second. Tipperary’s Courtney McGuire was the third women's finisher home.


Irish Life Dublin Marathon

2022 National Marathon Championship Results


  1. Courtney McGuire (Clonmel AC) 2:32:52
  2. Ann-Maire McGlynn (LetterKenny AC) 2:33:47
  3. Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harrier AC) 2:42:17


  1.  Martin Hoare (Clebridge AC) 2:20:22
  2. Conor Gallagher (St. Malachy's AC) 2:22:57  
  3. Sean Hehir (Croghan AC) 2:24:19

Overall Irish Life Marathon Results are available on the Dublin Marathon website.


Athletics Ireland would like to thank the Irish Life Dublin Marathon team for hosting these championships. Well done to all our members.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?