Gidey gallops to Leinster schools’ title


Gidey gallops to Leinster Schools’ title

Efrem Gidey (Le Cheile Tyrellstown) headlined the Irish Life Health Leinster Schools’ Cross Country Championships with a big win in the senior boys’ 6,000m at Santry Demesne today (February 13).

Shay McEvoy (St Kieran’s College Kilkenny) finished second behind a dominant Gidey with Shane Coffey (Naas CBS) third. Belvedere College won the team title.

Aoife O’Cuill (Maynooth PP) had a good finish to win the senior girls’ 2,500m with Mount Anville winning the team aided by Amy Rose Farrell in second. Aoife Ni Chofaigh (Colaiste Cois Life) was third. Mount Anville also won best overall school.

There were good battles throughout with the top 15 individuals and top three teams advancing to the Irish Life Health All Ireland Schools Cross Country Championships in Clongowes Wood College on March 9th.

Roisin O’Reilly (Loreto Wexford) won the intermediate girls’ 3,500m with Loreto Kilkenny wining the team. 

Scott Fagan (Luttrelstown Community College) won the intermediate boys’ 4,500m well with St Aidan’s winning the team.  

The junior girls' 2,000m saw Hannah Kehoe win with Mount Sackville winning the team.

Myles Hewlett (New Ross CBS) won the junior boys’ 3,000m with St Kieran’s College winning the team title.

Erin Leavy (St Vincent’s Dundalk) was the first winner of the day in the minor girls’ 1500m with Castleknock Community College a strong winning team. Billy Coogan (Kilkenny CBS) bagged the minor boys’ 2,000m title Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar coming out on top in the team. St Kieran’s College Kilkenny were best overall boys’ school.

Leading Results

Irish Life Health Leinster Schools Cross Country Championships, Santry Demesne


Minor 1500m

1.       Erin Leavy (St Vincent’s Dundalk), 2. Aoife Brown (Castleknock Community College), 3. Gara Williams (Castleknock Community College)


1.       Castleknock Community College, 2. Dominican College Wicklow, 3. Mt Anville

Junior 2,000m

1.       Hannah Kehoe (Loreto Kilkenny), 2. Ruby Steuven (St Mary’s Edenderry), 3. Sophie Quinn (Mt Sackville)


1.       Mt Sackville, 2. St Peter’s Dunboyne, 3. Maynooth PP

Intermediate 3,500m

1.       Roisin O’Reilly (Loreto Wexford), 2. Hannah O’Keefe (Loreto Kilkenny), 3. Holly Brennan (Sacred Heard Drogheda)


1.       Loreto Kilkenny, 2. Loreto Mullingar, 3. St Dominic’s Cabra

Senior 2,500m

1.       Aoife O’Cuill (Maynooth PP), 2. Amy Rose Farrell (Mt Anville), 3. Aoife Ni Chofaigh (Colaiste Chois Life)


1.       Mt Anville, 2. St Dominic’s Cabra, 3. Loreto St Stephen’s Green


Minor 2,000m

1.       Billy Coogan (Kilkenny CBS) 2. Jamie Byrne (Wesley College), 3. Mackenzie McIvor (Knockbeg College)


1.       Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar, 2. Wesley College, 3. St Kieran’s College Kilkenny

Junior 3,000m

1.       Myles Hewlett (New Ross CBS), 2. Diarmuid Fagan (Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar), 3. Tom Lodge (St Kieran’s College Kilkenny)


1.       St Kieran’s College Kilkenny, 2. St Aidan’s CBS, 3. St Pat’s Navan

Intermediate 4,500m

1.       Scott Fagan (Luttrelstown CC), 2. Sean Donoghue (St Declan’s Cabra), 3. Eanna O’Bradaigh (Colaiste Eoin)


1.       St Aidan’s CBS, 2. St Kieran’s College Kilkenny, 3. Naas CBS

Senior 6,000m

1.       Efrem Gidey (Le Cheile Tyrellstown), 2. Shay McEvoy (St Kieran’s College Kilkenny), 3. Shane Coffey (Naas CBS)


1.       Belvedere College, 2. St Kieran’s College Kilkenny, 3. Colaiste Mhuire Mullingar

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?