Our Board Members

Our governing Board consists of elected volunteers from every level of the membership. The Board is made up of:

  • The President
  • Five committee chairs elected at Congress
  • Four provincial representatives proposed by Provincial Boards and elected at Congress
  • Representatives of the Irish Schools Athletic Association, the Irish Universities Athletic Association and the Northern Ireland Athletic Federation.
  • Three co-opted members

The Board meets monthly and receives reports from the Coaching, Competition, Finance & Risk, High Performance and Juvenile Committees. It also receives a monthly report from the CEO as well as financial and KPI updates.

Athletics Ireland Board Members

President: Ciarán Ó Catháin
Chair of Coaching and Development Committee: Jim Kidd
Chair of Competition Committee: Georgina Drumm
Chair of Finance and Risk Committee: Peter Hanlon
Chair of High Performance Committee: Ray Flynn
Chair of Juvenile Committee: Jim Ryan
Connaught Representative: Michael O’Hart
Leinster Representative: John Cronin
Munster Representative: Mary Cronin
Ulster Representative: Brendan McDaid
Athletics Northern Ireland Representative: Roy Corry
I.S.A.A. Representative: Liam Moggan
I.U.A.A. Representative: Cyril Smyth (TCD)
Co-opted Members
Caroline O’Shea
Iggy Ó Muircheartaigh
Gerry Dunne
Council Member of European Athletics & Ex Officio: Liam Hennessy

Athletics Ireland Committees

Coaching and Development Committee

Chair Jim Kidd
Elected members:
Martin Wilkinson
Tom Clinton
Brian Corcoran
Brian Dowling
Bríd Golden

Competition Committee

Chair: Georgina Drumm
Elected members:
Brendan McDaid
John Cronin
Paddy Marley
Michael O’Hart
Michael O’Harte
Ronnie Quigley

Finance and Risk Committee

Chair Peter Hanlon
Elected members:
David Evans
Gerry Davenport
Dermot Nagle

High Performance Committee

Chair Ray Flynn
Elected members
Bríd Golden
Maeve Kyle
John Dooley

Juvenile Committee

Chair Jim Ryan
Elected members
Tony Ennis
Áine Pobjoy
Anne McHugh
Esther Fitzpatrick
John McGrath

Child Protection Officer Matt Lynch

Technical Committee

Chair John Cronin
Tom McCormack
Pierce O’Callaghan
Peter Hanlon
Pat O’Keeffe
Karl O’Connell
Michael Quinlan
Killian Lonergan
John McGrath
Liam Hennessy
Brendan McDaid
John Foley

Irish Schools’ Athletic Association Committee

President Michael Hunt
Deputy President Sean Nyhan

Vice Presidents
Mary Ashe
Padraig Callaghan
Padraig Griffin
Bill Hyland
Barney King, SM,
Graham Moffett
Robert Stevenson
Fr Ailbe O’Murchu OFM

National Children’s Officer Mary Barrett
Financial Director Derek Clements
Competitions Director Billy Delaney
International Competitions Director George Barclay
Marketing/PRO Director Enda Fitzpatrick

Irish Universities Athletics Association Committee

Chair Cyril Smyth (TCD)

Assistant Chair: Damian Walsh (WIT)
Secretary: Stephen Lipson (TCD)
Finance: Eric Brady (UCD)
Competition: Timmy Crowe (DCU)
Development: Enda Fitzpatrick (DCU)
Public Relations: Claire McGlynn (TCD)
Officer: Paul Butler (WIT)
Officer: Andrew Connick (WIT)
Officer: Alan Danagher (DCU)

Road Races and Events

Samsung Run Cork 10k
Samsung Run Dublin 10k
Rock N Roll Series Dublin
St Patricks Festival 5k
Northwest 10K
ait booking
laura lynn
Strabane Lifford Half Marathon
Ramble Aid
© 1996-2012 - Athletic Association of Ireland