Our governing Board consists of elected volunteers from every level of the membership. The Board is made up of:

  • The President
  • Five committee chairs elected at Congress
  • Four provincial representatives proposed by Provincial Boards and elected at Congressz
  • Representatives of the Irish Schools Athletic Association, the Irish Universities Athletic Association and the Northern Ireland Athletic Federation.
  • Three co-opted members


The Board meets monthly and receives reports from the Coaching, Competition, Finance & Risk, High Performance and Juvenile Committees.
It also receives a monthly report from the CEO as well as financial and KPI updates.

Athletics Ireland Board Members

  • President: John Cronin
  • Deputy President & Chair of Coaching & Development: Brid Golden
  • Chair of Competition: Andrew Lynam
  • Chair of Finance & Risk: Michael Quinlan 
  • Chair of HP: Fintan Reilly
  • Chair of Juvenile: Evelyn O'Reilly
  • Connacht Rep: Brian Bruton
  • Leinster Rep: Greg Duggan
  • Munster Rep: PJ O'Rourke
  • Ulster Rep: Brendan McDaid
  • Schools Rep: Rory Friel
  • Universities Rep: Laura Brennan
  • Athletics Northern Ireland Rep: David Abrahams
  • Co-optee: Nuala Hunt
  • Co-optee: Greta Hickey
  • Co-optee: Claire Shannon

Coaching and Development Committee

  • Chair: Brid Golden
  • Elected members: Mary Barrett, Eamon Harvey, Seamus Flynn, Pat Power
  • Co-opted Members: Shireen McDonagh, Niamh Richardson, Olivia Scully, Ciara O'Reilly, John Farrelly, Teresa McDaid

Competition Committee

  • Chair: Andrew Lynam
  • Elected members: Paddy Marley, Brendan McDaid, Bernie Dunne, Georgina Drumm, Bernie O'Callaghan (Secretary), Patsy Kelly (Provincial Rep Ulster), Patricia Griffin (Provincial Rep Connacht), Tim Ahern (Provincial Rep Munster), Majella McGrath (Provincial Rep Leinster)
  • Co-opted Members: Padraig Kelly

Finance and Risk Committee

  • Chair:  Michael Quinlan
  • Elected members: Brian Bruton, Anthony Kelly, Dermot Nagle
  • Co-opted Members: Gillian Browne, Ciara Dilon, George Maybury

High Performance Committee

  • Chair: Fintan Reilly
  • Elected members: Teresa McDaid, Eamon Harvey,
  • Co-opted: Niall Bruton, Noelle Morrisey, Cian McManamon

Juvenile Committee

  • Chair Evelyn O’Reilly
  • Elected members: Ester Fitzpatrick, Amanda Hynes, John McGrath, David Murphy, Bernie Dunne, Mark Connolly (Prov Rep Ulster), Anne McHugh (Prov Rep Connacht), Tim Fitzpatrick (Prov Rep Munster), Catriona Duffy (Prov Rep Leinster)
  • Co-opted member: Ashling Hoey & Matt Lynch (Juvenile Committee Child Officer)

Technical Committee 

  • Jackie Mulhall
  • Declan Curtin: Chair 
  • Michael Quinlan 
  • Killian Lonergan
  • Liam Hennessy 
  • Pierce O'Callaghan
  • Iain Shaw 
  • Karl O'Connell 
  • John Cronin: Competition Chair 
  • Ronan O'Hart: AAI International Technical Official  
  • Ciaran Doyle: Juvenile Committee Representative

Irish Schools’ Athletic Association Committee

  • President: Billy Delaney  
  • Deputy President: Mary Barrett   
  • Financial Director: Ronan O'Sullivan        
  • International Competitions Director: Rori Friel    
  • Marketing Director: Kieran Gallagher          
  • Child Welfare Officer: Child Welfare Officer          
  • Competition Director: Mary Ashe
  • Vice President: Fr Ailbe O'Murchu OFM 
  • Vice President: Graham Moffett      
  • Vice President: Mary Ashe
  • Vice President: Robert Stevenson   
  • Vice President: PJ Leddy
  • Vice President: George Barclay  
  • Vice President: Derek Clements   
  • Vice President: John Shields  
  • Vice President: William Hyland         
  • Adminstrative Director: Anthony White         

Irish Universities Athletics Association Committee

  • Chair: Garret Dunne (TCD)
  • Assistant Chair: Laura Brennan (TCD)
  • Secretary: Stephen Lipson (TCD)
  • Treasurer: Eric Brady (UCD)
  • Competition: Dylan Byrne (QUB)
  • Development: John Moroney (TCD)
  • Public Relations: Victoria Daniel (NUIM)
  • Officer: Shane Aston (ITC)
  • Officer: Pierre Murchan (NUIG)
  • Officer: Ciaran Quinn (TCD)

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?