Awards 2011

2011 was the year when Deirdre Ryan made the great leap forward in one of the most technically and mentally demanding of field events – the High Jump. Her sixth place finish at the World Championships in Daegu was the standout performance by an Irish athlete at major championships. The DSD athlete’s season best of 1.95m set a new Irish record and also secured the ‘A’ qualification standard for London 2012.

2011 Award Winners

  • Athlete of the Year Deirdre Ryan (DSD)
  • The Emerging Athlete of the Year Kate Veale (West Waterford AC)
  • Junior Athlete of the Year Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn)
  • U23 Athlete of the Year Brian Gregan (Clonliffe Harriers)
  • Track and Field Athlete of the Year Deirdre Ryan (DSD AC)
  • Endurance Athlete Award Fionnualla Britton (Kilcoole AC)
  • Master of the Year Joe Gough (West Waterford)
  • Coach of the Year Teresa McDaid (Letterkenny AC)
  • Club of the Year DSD AC
  • Special Team Award European U23 Cross Country Gold medallist team,
  • Inspirational Performance Award Ciaran O’Lionaird (Leevale AC)
  • Lifetime Achievement Award Brother John Dooley
  • Outstanding Official Award Ainé Pobjoy (Mid-Sutton AC)
  • AVIVA Tailteann Schools’ Awards
  • Girl: Kate Veale St Augustine’s, Dungarvan
  • Boy: Tommy Casey Sligo Grammar School

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?