• Brendan Boyce secures qualifying time for 2020 Olympic Games

  • Thomas Barr third in Shanghai

  • Leinster Schools’ set for top class showing

  • Women’s 4x100 10th overall at World Relays in Yokohama

  • Run, Jump and Throw at the Irish Life Health Athletics Summer Camps!

Georgina Drumm elected as new President at Congress


Drumm delighted to be new President

Georgina Drumm was elected as the new President of Athletics Ireland at the 2016 Congress in the Tullamore Court Hotel today (April 23).

Drumm was the outgoing Chair of the Competition Committee and won a vote against Ray Flynn by 171 votes to 23.

“I’m delighted to be elected as the new President,” said the Louth woman who took over from Professor Ciarán Ó Catháin whose tenure came to an end. “I’m looking forward to working with the CEO John Foley, all the staff and volunteers.”

The other main elections were: John McGrath, Chair of the Juvenile Committee; John Cronin, Chair of Competition; Brid Golden, Chair of High Performance; Eamon Harvey, Chair of Coaching and Development; and George Maybury, Chair of Finance and Risk.

CEO of Athletics Ireland John Foley addressed the Congress and spoke about all the positive developments in Irish Athletics. “The sport in Ireland is growing by the year with increasing membership numbers and the Association becoming more self-sufficient financially alongside the continued support of Sport Ireland,” said Foley.

“The sport in Ireland, and internationally, got a huge lift by Phil Healy’s run in the women’s 4x400m relay at the Irish Universities Championships last week. Her performance, alongside the colourful commentary, which went viral, showed why athletics still matters and how true competition can capture the attention of those far and wide. We have a sport to be proud of.”

The new boards 

Board of Athletics Ireland

John McGrath, Jim Ryan, George Maybury, Neil Martin, John Cronin, Eamon Harvey, Brid Golden, and Cyril Smyth and Georgina Drumm

Competition Committee

Tim Ahern, Patricia Griffin, Mary Cronin, John Cronin, Bernie Dunne, Pat Hooper

Finance and Risk Committee

Neil Martin, George Maybury, Dermot Nagle and Michael Quinlan

Juvenile Committee

 John McGrath, Tim Fitzpatrick, Evelyn O'Reilly, Ciaran Doyle, Bernie Dunne, Jim Corcoran, Esther Fitzpatrick, Jim Ryan, Amanda Hynes and Dermot McGranaghan

Honorary Life Presidents

Michael Heery, Nick Davis and Liam Hennessey

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Sign Up

Which of the following best describes you?