McCormack to lead full teams to European Cross


McCormack to lead full teams to European Cross

Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole) will lead full Irish teams to the European Cross Country Championships in Lisbon on Sunday December 8th.

McCormack is making her 16th appearance at the championships - breaking her own record of 15. There is a wrap of her performance at the Irish Life Health Championships on the European Athletics website HERE

She will hope to put in a strong individual and team challenge with the likes of Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn) and Aoibhe Richardson (Kilkenny City Harriers) who was 19th at the recent NCAA Cross Country (American Collegiate) Championships in Terre Haute last weekend.

Also last weekend at the NCAA Division II Cross Country Championships, Stpehanie Cotter (West Muskerry) and the Flanagan (Carmen Runners) twins, Eilish and Roisin, led a 1-2-3 of the podium for Adams State. They are selected on the U23 team.

Liam Brady (Tullamore Harriers) who won the national senior title and Sean Tobin (Clonmel), 10th in the European Cross last year, lead the senior men's team.

Full teams have been selected in the build-up to hosting the European Cross Country Championships in Dublin next year.

The following athletes have been selected for the European Cross Country Championships that are taking place on the 8th December in Lisbon, Portugal.


European Cross Country Championships, Lisbon, December 8



Aoife O'Cuill (St. Coca's AC), Danielle Donegan (Tullamore Harriers AC), Eimear Maher (Dundrum South Dublin AC), Jodie McCann (Dublin City Harriers AC), Maeve Gallagher (Swinford AC), Sarah Kelly (Inishowen AC)


Claire Fagan (Mullingar Harriers AC), Eilish Flanagan (Carmen runners), Fian Sweeney (Dublin City Harriers AC), Roisin Flanagan (Carmen runners), Sorcha McAlister (Westport AC), Stephanie Cotter (West Muskerry AC)


Aoibhe Richardson (Kilkenny City Harriers AC), Ciara Mageean (City of Lisburn AC), Fionnuala McCormack (Kilcoole AC), Fionnuala Ross (Armagh AC), Mary Mulhare (Portlaoise AC), Una Britton (Kilcoole AC)



Daragh McElhinney (UCD), Jamie Battle  (Mullingar Harriers AC), Keelan Kilrehill   (Moy Valley AC) , Shay McEvoy (Kilkenny City Harriers AC), Thomas McStay (Galway City Harriers AC), TBC


Brian Fay (Raheny Shamrock AC), Cathal Doyle (Clonliffe Harriers AC), Cormac Dalton (Mullingar Harriers AC), David McGlynn (Waterford AC), Jack O'Leary (Mullingar Harriers AC), Peter Lynch (Kilkenny City Harriers AC)    


Conor Bradley (City of Derry Spartans AC), Damien Landers (Ennis Track AC), Eoin Everard (Kilkenny City Harriers AC), Kevin Maunsell (Clonmel AC), Liam Brady (Tullamore Harriers AC), Sean Tobin (Clonmel AC)                                       

Mixed Relay     

Amy O'Donoghue (Emerald AC), John Travers (Donore Harriers AC), Luke McCann (Dublin City Harriers AC), Nadia Power (Dublin City Harriers AC)

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?