Neville a fighting fifth on another great day for the Irish


Neville fighting fifth in 100m final

Ciara Neville (Emerald) produced a season’s best performance of 11.57 seconds to finish fifth in the women’s 100m while Molly Scott (SLOT) was 8th in a new pb of 11.70 at the European U23 Athletics Championships in Gavle, Sweden (July 12).

Neville was please with her performance and her goal was to make the final going into the championships. This was Scott’s fifth race of the championships to date having run in the semi-finals of the 100m hurdles earlier. She finished fifth in her 100m hurdles race in a new pb of 13.59 which also put her fifth on the Irish all-time list.

Sarah Quinn (St Colman’s South Mayo) produced another brilliant run to finish fourth in her 100m hurdles semi-final in another new personal best of 13.57 – this also put her to fourth on the Irish all-time list. Unfortunately, Kate Doherty (DSD), did not finish her race hitting the first two hurdles.  

Brian Fay (Raheny Shamrock) had an eventful 3,000m steeplechase going head first into the water jump but he got back up to come sixth in 8:56.63 and qualify as a fastest non-automatic qualifier. Paul O’Donnell (DSD) finished 14th in the first heat in 9:20.86.

Sharlene Mawdsley (Newport) was another to qualify for a final as a fastest non-automatic qualifier in the 400m running 52.28 seconds. Sophie Becker (St Joseph’s) ran a brilliant from lane 8 to finish third in her semi-final in 53.67 – missing out on a place in the final by one spot and ranked 9th overall.

Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock) breathed a sigh of relief in the men’s 200m heats finishing fifth in a new pb of 21.29 seconds. He was the fastest non-automatic qualifier to advance to the semi-finals.

Niamh Fogarty (Raheny Shamrock) recovered from a shaky start in the women’s discus final to finish 7th with 51.57m. She was delighted with her top 8 performance.

Rounding out the day Siobhra O'Flaherty finished 18th in 35:45.89 and Claire Fagan finished 22nd in 37:06.48 in the women's 10,000m final. The race was won in a brilliant championship record of 31:39.34 by Germany’s Alina Reh.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?