Mark Smyth (Raheny Shamrock AC) has smashed Paul Brizzel’s national 200m indoor record with a blistering 20.64 NR at today’s Leinster Indoor Championships which took place at the Sport Ireland National Indoor Arena (March 11th).

Smyth’s time took 0.11 off the old record (20.75) which had stood for the last 20 years (March 2nd 2003).

It continues an outstanding run of form for the Raheny athlete. Earlier this month Smyth produced one of the standout performances of the National Senior Indoor Championships to take the 200m title in 20.77 seconds.

That result put Smyth second on the all-time list before today’s record breaking display put him out on his own as number one on the all-time indoor list.

Today’s race saw Smyth finish one place ahead of Olympian Marcus Lawler (Clonliffe Harriers) in 21.10SB, with Adam Murphy third in 21.81.

Race Result

1             5             420        Mark SMYTH      SEN M   Raheny Shamrock A.C.   20.64     CR/NR

2             6             103        Marcus LAWLER               SEN M   Clonliffe Harriers A.C.     21.10    

3             4             521        Adam MURPHY SEN M   Tinryland A.C.    21.81

  • Full Leinster Indoor Championships Results HERE
  • Irish All Time Indoor Lists HERE

*Record subject to ratification

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?