Okafor reigns supreme in Morton Stadium


Okafor reigns supreme in Morton Stadium

Charles Okafor (Mullingar Harriers) reigned supreme to win the men’s sprint double at the Irish Life Health National U20 Athletics Championships in Morton Stadium today (September 5th).

Conditions were certainly interchangeable with Okafor winning the 100m in bright conditions in 10.92 100m from Oliver Swinney (Speed Development Project) in 11.02 and Michael Farrelly (Raheny Shamrock) in 11.04. Full results of the day are HERE

It was the pouring rain for the 200m but it didn’t stop Charles Okafor completing an impressive double in 22.16 from Farrelly who moved up to silver in 22.42 from Aaron Keane (Tullamore Harriers) in 22.44.

Robert McDonnell (Galway City Harriers) was equally impressive in the rain to win the men’s 400m in 48.66 from Cian Dunne (DSD) 49.64 and Hugo Magee (Crusaders) 50.45.

Earlier in the day, Conor Cusack (Lake District) produced an excellent 62.01m in the javelin for a championship best performance and the gold medal that came with it having won silver at the national seniors.

Jenna Breen (City of Lisburn) came through to win the women’s 100m in 12.31 from Alannah McGuinness (Carrick on Shannon) in 12.35 and Jennifer Hanrahan (Tallaght) in 12.36.

Molly Hourihan (DSD) came out on top in the women’s 200m in 25.16 with Jenna Breen second in 25.25 and Elizabeth Gahan (Enniscorthy) third in 25.31.

Lauren McCourt (Bandon) ran strongly won win the 400m in 57.67 from Caoimhe Cronin (Le Cheile) in 58.52 and Charlotte Bourke (DSD) in 58.85.

Aimee Hayde (Newport) produced a front-running performance to win the women’s 1500m in 4:25.77 while Sean Donoghue (Celtic DCH) prevailed in the men’s 1500m in 3:58.55.

Cara McNally (Lusk) made her first ever 3,000m steeplechase a gold one in 12:11.13 while James Hyland (Raheny Shamrock) was a strong winner of the men’s in 9:43.95.

Emily MacHugh (Naas) won the 3,000m race walk in 13:54.21 with Matthew Glennon (Mullingar Harriers) winning the men’s 5,000m walk in 23:23.66.

Joseph McEvoy (Nenagh Olympic) produced his furthest ever long jump to win gold with 7.20m while Sophie Meredith (St Mary’s Limerick) produced a good series to win women’s gold with 5.97m.  

Sean Carolan (Nenagh Olympic) impressed in the shot put and discus to win double gold with respective throws of 14.31m and 44.91m.  

Ciara Sheehy (Emerald) also completed the same double winning the shot put with 13.40m and the discus with 41.09m.  

Nicola Tuthill (Bandon) expectedly prevailed in the women’s hammer with a best of 57.19m with Sean Maher (Raheny Shamrock) just winning the men’s hammer with 55.39m from Robert Higgins (Na Fianna) with 54.23m.

Aoibhin McMahon (Blackrock Louth), who competed well at the national seniors, won the U20javelin with 39.26m from Ciara McHugh Murphy (Claremorris) with 38.36m and Katelynn Reid (An Riocht) with 38.20m.

Kiana Nolan (SLOT) won the 28lbs weight for distance with 5.19m with Robert Higgins (Na Fianna) winning the men’s 35lbs weight for distance with 9.16m – Sean Mockler (Moycarkey Coolcroo) won the U23 wfd with 9.34m.

Top 3 results

Irish Life Health National U20 Athletics Championships Day 1 results



Jenna Breen (City of Lisburn) 12.31, 2. Alannah McGuinness (Carrick on Shannon) 12.35, 3. Jennifer Hanrahan (Tallaght) 12.36


Molly Hourihan (DSD) 25.16, 2. Jenna Breen (City of Lisburn) 25.25, 3. Elizabeth Gahan (Enniscorthy) 25.31


Lauren McCourt (Bandon) 57.67, 2. Caoimhe Cronin (Le Cheile) 58.52, 3. Charlotte Bourke (DSD) 58.85


Aimee Hayde (Newport) 4:25.77, Ava O’Connor (Tullamore Harriers) 4:28.90, 3. Siobhan Whelan (Clonmel) 4:29.20

3,000m steeplechase

Cara McNally (Lusk) 12:11.13, 2. Sarah Gilhooley (Galway City Harriers) 12:34.41, 3. Niamh McDonald (Ballyroan, Abbeyleix & District) 12:57.18

3,000m race walk

Emily MacHugh (Naas) 13:54.21, 2. Maria Flynn (Naas) 14:28.97, 3. Ruth Monaghan (Sligo) 15:05.11

U23 3,000m race walk

Sarah Constant (Carraig na bhFear) 17:25.07

Long jump

Sophie Meredith (St Mary’s Limerick) 5.97m, 2. Jennifer Hanrahan (Tallaght) 5.73m, 3. Laura Frawley (Emerald) 5.70m

Shot Put

Ciara Sheehy (Emerald) 13.40m, 2. Casey Mulvey (Inny Vale) 12.68m, 3. Niamh McCorry (Annalee) 10.42m


Nicola Tuthill (Bandon) 57.19m, 2. Adrienne Gallen (Lifford Strabane) 48.58m, 3. Ciara McHugh Murphy (Claremorris) 42.56m


Aoibhin McMahon (Blackrock Louth) 39.26m, 2. Ciara McHugh Murphy (Claremorris) 38.36m, 3. Katelynn Reid (An Riocht) 38.20m


Ciara Sheehy (Emerald) 41.09m, 2. Anna Gavigan (Lambay Sports Academy) 33.36m, 3. Niamh Quinn (Cushinstown) 32.99m

Weight for distance 28lbs

Kiana Nolan (SLOT) 5.19m, 2. Siobhan Hennessy (Templemore) 4.85m



Charles Okafor (Mullingar Harriers) 10.92, 2. Oliver Swinney (Speed Development Project) 11.02, 3. Michael Farrelly (Raheny Shamrock) 11.04


Charles Okafor (Mullingar Harriers) 22.16, 2. Michael Farrelly (Raheny Shamrock) 22.42, Aaron Keane (Tullamore Harriers) 22.44


Robert McDonnell (Galway City Harriers) 48.66, 2. Cian Dunne (DSD) 49.64, 3. Hugo Magee (Crusaders) 50.45


Sean Donoghue (Celtic DCH) 3:58.55, 2. Tadhg Donnelly (Drogheda & District) 3:59.20, 3. Michael Morgan (Sligo) 4:02.40

3,000m steeplechase

James Hyland (Raheny Shamrock) 9:43.95, 2. Mark Hanrahan (Ennis Track) 9:57.94, 3. Frank O’Brien (Midleton) 10:06.64

5,000m race walk

Matthew Glennon (Mullingar Harriers) 23:23.66, Jake O’Brien (Moy Valley) 24:45.25, 3. James Hanlon (Taghmon) 25:11.32

U23 5,000m race walk

Joe Mooney (Adamstown) 23:51.71

Long jump

Joseph McEvoy (Nenagh Olympic) 7.20m, 2. Luke O’Carroll (Tralee Harriers) 6.94m, 3. Darragh Miniter (Nenagh Olympic) 6.72m

Shot Put

Sean Carolan (Nenagh Olympic) 14.31m, 2. Jordan Cunningham (City of Lisburn) 13.22m, 3. Philip Thornton (Dunboyne) 12.66m


Sean Maher (Raheny Shamrock) 55.39m, 2. Robert Higgins (Na Fianna) 54.23m, 3. Azuolas Varnili (Templemore) 47.02m


Conor Cusack (Lake District) 62.01m CBP, 2. Cathal Scanlon (Leevale) 54.87m, 3. Peter McDonald (St Senan’s) 44.18m


Sean Carolan (Nenagh Olympic) 44.91m, 2. Adam Sheridan (Westport) 42.91m, 3. Eoghan Murphy (Tara) 35.84m

Weight for distance 35lbs

Robert Higgins (Na Fianna) 9.16m, 2. Azuolas Varnili (Templemore) 7.52m, 3. Eoghan Murphy (Tara) 7.48m

U23 weight for distance 35lbs

Sean Mockler (Moycarkey Coolcroo) 9.34m, 2. Patrick Darcy (Brow Rangers) 8.05m

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?