Team of Nine Selected for IAU World 24-Hour Championships


Team of Nine Selected for IAU World 24-Hour ChampionshipsThe 24-hour World Championships for 2019 will take place in Albi, France on Saturday 26th & Sunday 27th October.  The Irish Team selected for this event will include participants in both the male and female races. Both teams are confident of improving on their rankings from the 2018 European Championships held in Timisoara, Romania where the Women’s Team finished in 13th position and the Men’s Team finished in 8th position. The squad will be captained by the 2018 Ultra Runner of the year Aidan Hogan from Rising Sun AC, Cork and includes some new faces along with the familiar ones.  Making their International debut will be Lorraine McMahon (Wexford Marathon Club) and Padraig Mullins (St Finbars AC).  Lorraine achieved the qualifying standard with a 2nd place finish in the 24hr National Championships (Energia 24) held in Belfast in June with a distance of 210Km. Padraig had previously achieved the qualifying standard with a distance of 229km set in the USA in September 2018.  He followed this with a 3rd place finish in the 2019 National Championships with a distance of 220Km. 


Men’s Team:

Aidan Hogan (Captain)

Eoin Keith

Eddie Gallen

Padraig Mullins

Alex O’Shea

Women’s Team:

Amy Masner

Louise Smart

Lorraine McMahon

Yvonne Naughton


The Team will be accompanied by an experienced support crew consisting of:

John O’Regan (Team Manager).

Liam Tilly (Coach)

Louis Byrne (Physical Therapist)

Philip Bourke (Crew)

For updates you can follow the team on twitter at @teamireland24

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?