IAAF World U20 Championships team named


18 athletes selected for Tampere

A strong Irish team of 18 athletes have been selected for the IAAF World U20 Athletics Championships in Tampere, Finland (July 10-15).

There are plenty of experienced campaigners along with newcomers in fine form. The women’s 4x100m relay team came fifth at the last edition in Bygoszcz and they have some returning members in Gina Akpe-Moses (Blackrock-Louth), Ciara Neville (Emerald) and Molly Scott (SLOT) along with rising stars Patience Jumbo-Gula (St Gerard’s), Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght) and Lauren Roy (City of Lisburn).

This will be a great opportunity to gain further experience on the pathway to senior athletics with Gina Akpe-Moses, European U20 100m champion last year, and Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley) among those who is capable of a top 8 performance.  


100m & 200m & 4x100m Ciara Neville (Emerald AC), 100m & 200m & 4x100m Gina Akpe-Moses (Blackrock-Louth), 400m Ciara Deely (KCH AC), 400m Davicia Patterson (Beechmount Harriers AC), 800m Jo Keane (Ennis Track), 100mh & 4x100m, Molly Scott (St. L. O'Toole AC), High Jump Sommer Lecky (Finn Valley AC), 10k Walk Niamh O'Connor (Celbridge AC), 10k Walk Orla O'Connor (Waterford AC),               4x100m relay: Lauren Roy (City of Lisburn), Patience Jumbo-Gula (St. Gerard's AC), Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallaght AC)


200m & 4x100m Aaron Sexton (North Down AC), 5000m Darragh McIlhinney (Bantry AC), 4x100m relay: Conor Morey (Leevale AC), Jack Dempsey (GCH AC), David McDonald (Menapians AC), Reality Osuoha (Fingallians AC), Israel Olatunde (Dundealgan AC)

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?