• Job Opportunity with Athletics Ireland – Competitions Department Executive

  • Federation of Irish Sport announce shortlist for Sport Industry Awards 2019

  • The Entry Lists for the National Juvenile Indoors are now available online

  • McCormack magnificent in Aarhus

  • McCormack leads Irish six for ultimate cross test

Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards 2016 Nominations Announced


Athletics Ireland is pleased to announce the nominations for the 2016 Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards. The awards will take place on Wednesday 30th of November in the Crowne Plaza Hotel, Northwood.

Jim Dowdall, Managing Director of Irish Life Health, is delighted that they are the title sponsor of the event. “Irish Life Health is delighted to sponsor Athletics Ireland's National Athletics Awards. These awards are an important opportunity to celebrate the many achievements and successes of Ireland's athletes in what has been an outstanding and exciting year for the sport”.

Athlete Awards Nominations


  Track & Field Athlete Endurance Athlete U23 Athlete  U20 Athlete

Thomas Barr

Brendan Boyce

Siofra Cleirigh Buttner 

Adam King


Mark English

Rob Heffernan

Marcus Lawler 

Sharlene Mawdsley


Ciara Mageean 

Fionnuala McCormack 

Sarah Buggy 

Elizabeth Morland


Michaela Walsh 

The prestigious Athlete of the Year Award will be presented on the day.

Hall of Fame

Marcus O’ Sullivan of Leevale AC will be inducted into the Hall of Fame at this year’s Irish Life Health National Athletics Awards. The Hall of Fame award is presented to an athlete who has achieved at the highest level and is considered world class. The recipients have transcended the sport and are sporting legends. O’Sullivan duly takes his place in the Hall of Fame joining fellow Irish greats Ronnie Delany, Eamonn Coghlan, John Treacy and Frank O’ Mara.

Marcus is three time World Indoor 1500m Indoor Champion, winning these titles in 1987, 1989 and 1993. In his victories in 1987 and 1989, Marcus set championship records. Marcus also took home silverware at the 1985 European Athletics Indoor Championships winning silver in the 1500m. O’Sullivan qualified for four Olympic Games: 1984, 1988, 1992 and 1996 at both the 800m and 1500m, he reached the 1500m final at the 1988 Seoul Olympics. Marcus also won the prestigious Wanamaker Mile at Madison Square Garden’s Millrose Games six times (1986, 1988, 1989, 1990, 1992, and 1996). O'Sullivan, along with Irish runners Ray Flynn, Eamonn Coghlan, and Frank O'Mara established the still standing world record in the 4 x 1 mile relay, when they combined in Dublin on August 17, 1985 to run 15:49.08.

Club Awards

There will be awards presented to Performance Club of the Year and Development Club of the Year. Applications are now open for the Development Club of the Year Category, please return your Completed Form by post to Development Club of the Year, Athletics Ireland Unit 19, Northwood Court, Northwood Business Campus, Santry Dublin 9 or by email to no later than Tuesday 1st November 2016.

Other awards presented on the day will include the Ultra Running Award, Mountain Running Award, Master Athlete of the Year, Schools Athlete of the Year, Team Performance of the Year and University Athlete. The award ceremony also commemorates our exceptional volunteer base. In recognition of that, awards will be presented to Outstanding Coach Award and the Lifetime Achievement Award.

Ticket Information

The ceremony will once again take the format of an Awards Luncheon. Please join us in celebrating and congratulating the awards winners. The lunch will take place from 12 noon to 4pm. Please note: There is a limited amount of tickets available for purchase; the cost of the tickets is €50 per head and the dress code is smart. Tables of 10 can be purchased at €450. To purchase tickets please telephone: (01) 8869933 or book online HERE

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Sign Up

Which of the following best describes you?