Athletic Association of Ireland Congress Minutes 2023


Congress is always a special day and there were some important presentations, elections, motion discussions and acknowledgement of the incredible contributions made across our sport at our recent Congress in Tullamore.

One of the day’s highlights included Life Vice Presidents awards being presented to Paddy Marley, Caroline O’Shea, Dermot Nagle and Norah McDermott for their contribution to athletics.

The Minutes of Congress 2023 can be accessed here.

The new Board of Athletics Ireland will be composed of the following members, this is the first time that we have had a gender balanced Board. The gender balanced Board directly reflects our sport demographics, and we congratulate this new Board on their appointment and note that all Committee appointments are currently being finalised.

  • John Cronin                       President
  • Brid Golden                       Deputy President & Munster Rep
  • Seamus Flynn                   Chair of Coaching & Development
  • Andrew Lynam                 Chair of Competition
  • Michael Quinlan              Chair of Finance & Risk
  • Fintan Reilly                      Chair of High Performance
  • Amanda Hynes                 Chair of Juvenile
  • Marion McEvilly               Connacht Rep
  • Greg Duggan                     Leinster Rep
  • Brendan McDaid              Ulster Rep
  • Mary Barrett                     ISAA
  • Laura Brennan                  IUAA
  • David Abrahams              Athletics NI
  • Greta Hickey                      Co-optee
  • Nuala Hunt                         Co-optee
  • Claire Shannon                  Co-optee

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?