Guiden and Purcell Storm through National 5 Mile Championships


The Irish Runner and National 5 Mile Championships got underway this morning in Dublin’s Phoenix Park. The second instalment of the Athletics Ireland Race Series sponsored by Sports Travel International, hosted a strong turn out from both athletics clubs and participation runners, including the 2022 Operation Transformation Leaders, Stefano Sweetman, Katie Jones, Kathleen Hurley-Mullins and John Ryan.  

As competitors took to the start line, a fresh shower of rain did not dampen the spirits of those taking on the tough course. As participants edged closer to the finish line, the weather soon changed to shine on the achievements of all involved.  

Ian Guiden (Clonliffe Harriers) was a favourite going into the race and from the start the Dublin man kept a strong lead in the front runner's pack. Guiden went on to cross the line in 23:44 becoming the 2022 National 5 Mile Road Champion. 

Coming up behind Guiden was Dunboyne AC’s Peter Somba (24:20), followed closely by Evan Fitzgerald (Clonmel AC) and Aron Smith (Cilles AC).  

In the women’s race it was a strong performance by the Raheny Shamrock ladies with Kate Purcell taking the Championship title with an impressive 28:30 on the clock, while Zoe Quinn claimed a bronze medal for the Dublin Club. Sile O’Byrne of Sli Cualann AC took the silver medal after her impressive performance across the course, coming over the finish line just seconds after Purcell. Coming off the course, Purcell said "conditions were better than expected, it was a fair course of highs and lows"

The battle for teams' medals was hotly contested as each club brought strong representation to this year's championships, but it was almost a clean sweep for Raheny Shamrock as they retained both the Senior Men’s and Women’s Championship titles, as well as adding the Men’s O35 title to their Championship title list of 2022. 

In the Women's O35’s competition Brother Pearse AC claimed the title building on their 2019 performance. There are new title holders in both the Men’s O50 and Women's O50 Categories, with the Men's title heading west to Inishowen AC, and the Women’s O50 title, being claimed by local club Lucan Harriers.  

All eyes will now turn to the final instalment of the 2022 Athletics Ireland Race Series with the Irish Runner 10 Mile Race to incorporate the National Championships taking place on July 10th in the Phoenix Park, link to registration: HERE

National Road 5 Mile Championship Winners:  


  • 1st: Kate Purcell, Raheny Shamrock (28:30)  
  • 2nd: Sile O’Byrne, Sli Cualann AC (28:56)  
  • 3rd: Zoe Quinn, Raheny Shamrock (29:36)  


  • 1st: Ian Guiden, Clonliffe Harriers (23:44)  
  • 2nd: Evan Fitzgerald, Clonmel AC (24:24)  
  • 3rd: Aron Smith, Cilles AC (25:25) 

Athletics Ireland Race Series Irish Runner 5 Mile Winners:  


  • 1st: Kate Purcell, Raheny Shamrock (28:30)  
  • 2nd: Sile O’Byrne, Sli Cualann AC (28:56)  
  • 3rd: Zoe Quinn, Raheny Shamrock (29:36)  


  • 1st: Ian Guiden, Clonliffe Harriers (23:44)  
  • 2nd: Peter Somba, Dunboyne AC (24:20)  
  • 3rd: Evan Fitzgerald, Clonmel AC (24:24) 

Provisional National Road 5 Mile Championship Team Winners:  

Senior Women:

  • 1st: Raheny Shamrock  
  • 2nd: Sli Cualann AC  
  • 3rd: Liffey Valley AC 

Senior Men:

  • 1st: Raheny Shamrock  
  • 2nd: Liffey Valley AC
  • 3rd: Donore Harriers  

O35 Women:

  • 1st: Brothers Pearse AC 
  • 2nd: Donore Harriers  
  • 3rd: Raheny Shamrock  

O35 Men:

  • 1st: Raheny Shamrock  
  • 2nd: Brothers Pearse AC 
  • 3rd: Crusaders AC 

O50 Women:

  • 1st: Lucan Harriers  
  • 2nd: Mullingar Harriers  
  • 3rd: Sportsworld 

O50 Men:

  • 1st: Inishowen AC 
  • 2nd: Omagh Harriers  
  • 3rd: Liffey Valley  

Link to Full Results: HERE

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?