Irish clubs set to battle it out at European Club Cross Country Championships


Seven Irish clubs will join the cream of continental club cross country running at the European Champions Clubs Cup Cross Country in Albufeira, Portugal on Sunday (Feb 25th).

98 teams featuring 379 athletes will take on the undulating route, making it the biggest edition in recent years.

It is the 12th time in which Albufeira has hosted a version of the championships, which has a history stretching back to 1962. It is also on the same course which hosted the 2010 SPAR European Cross Country Championships.

The eight Irish teams secured their place by virtue of their first and second place team finishes at the Autumn Open (Mixed Relay) and 2023 National Cross Country Championships in Gowran.

Each club will be looking to replicate some of the success enjoyed by Irish teams in recent editions. Last year saw Irish clubs secure five top-8 finishes, while Ennis Track took home the men’s U20 title in 2021.

2024 Irish Clubs:

Senior Men

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers EVERARD Eoin

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers FORDE Gerry

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers GAHAN Jamie

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers O'REILLY Cathal

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers LEDINGHAM James


IRL North Belfast Harriers LAVERY Joseph

IRL North Belfast Harriers MCCAMBRIDGE Conal

IRL North Belfast Harriers MCCAUGHEY Conan

IRL North Belfast Harriers MCNALLY Finn

IRL North Belfast Harriers MILLIGAN Andrew

U20 Men

IRL Lagan Valley AC ARTHUR Tommy

IRL Lagan Valley AC HARPER Noah

IRL Lagan Valley AC JONES Charlie

IRL Lagan Valley AC MALLON Lughaidh


IRL Lagan Valley AC MCGLOIN Oisin


IRL Clonliffe Harriers AC BRADY Leon

IRL Clonliffe Harriers AC BRESLIN Tom

IRL Clonliffe Harriers AC CRONIN Seán

IRL Clonliffe Harriers AC KEEGAN Cillian

IRL Clonliffe Harriers AC QUILL Rory

IRL Clonliffe Harriers AC URSACHI Matei

Senior Women

IRL Dublin City Harriers DEEGAN Avril

IRL Dublin City Harriers DUFFY Orla

IRL Dublin City Harriers MCALLISTER Sorcha

IRL Dublin City Harriers MONAGHAN Edel

IRL Dublin City Harriers MURPHY Cliona

IRL Dublin City Harriers SCOLLARD Cristin

U20 Women


IRL Youghal AC CHIDLOW Izabella


IRL Youghal AC NI LAOIRE Saorla


IRL Kilkenny City Harriers O'CALLAGHAN Clodagh

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers COOGAN Hazel

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers LANGTON Pia

IRL Kilkenny City Harriers BURKE Isabella


Mixed Relay

IRL Dublin City Harriers MURCHAN Pierre

IRL Dublin City Harriers O'HARE Oran

IRL Dublin City Harriers RAFTER Claire

IRL Dublin City Harriers DERVAN Faye

IRL Dublin City Harriers MARRON Philip


IRL Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C BYRNE Mitchell

IRL Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C DOHERTY Cillian

IRL Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C MCCREERY Edel

IRL Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C RITCHIE Zoe

IRL Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C SCANLON David

IRL Rathfarnham W.S.A.F. A.C SWEENEY Carla

Each team’s score shall be determined by the aggregate of finishing positions achieved by its 3 (three) best placed athletes.

Athletics Ireland would like to wish all of our clubs the very best of luck as they represent us in Portugal this weekend.

  • Stream: Click HERE
  • Timetable: Click HERE
  • Learn more about ECCC HERE

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?