Junior & U23 Titles Decided


Day 2 of the Irish Life Health Junior and U23 Track and Field Championships took place in glorious June sunshine at Morton Stadium today.

The 100m hurdles were the first of the track finals on day 2 with athletes undoubtedly inspired by the exploits of Sarah Lavin in clocking a sub 13 second 100m hurdle in Madrid yesterday evening. The first track title of the day went the way of Lara O'Byrne of Donore Harriers in the U23 100m Hurdles. A winning time of 14.51 secured the gold medal for O’Byrne from Niamh O’Neill (St. Colmans South Mayo A.C.) in second, and Caoimhe Mackey (Donore Harriers) in third. Eimear Kelly (City of Derry A.C. Spartans) took home the Junior title with an impressive 14.67.

The Junior Men's 100m Hurdles title went to Iarlaith Golding (14.14) who continued the strong showing from St. Colmans South Mayo A.C athletes over the two days. Jordan Cunningham (City of Lisburn A.C.) was second, with James Ezeonu (Leevale A.C.) third.

Valantinos Goularas (Crusaders A.C.) is the new Men's U23 100m Hurdles Champion, crossing the line in 15.14 from Aaron Tiernan Smith (Menapians A.C.).

Sean Carolan of Nenagh Olympic A.C claimed U23  Discus gold with a 45.25 throw, while Morgan Brennan (Crusaders A.C.) secured the Junior title with a 34.39.

Niamh Fogarty of Raheny Shamrock A.C took gold in the Women’s U23 Discus with a best throw of 52.02. Casey Mulvey of Inny Vale A.C took home the Junior title with a 44.43 throw.

Jennifer Hanrahan of Tallaght A.C. had a busy day and secured gold in the Women’s Long Jump with a 5.80. Katie Nolke (Ferrybank A.C.) won silver, with Lauren Callaghan (Finn Valley A.C.) taking the bronze. Emily Forte of Lagan Valley A.C. was top of the podium in the Women’s U23 Long Jump with a 5.04.

The Junior Men’s title went to Luke O’Carroll of Tralee Harriers with a 7.33 jump, while clubmate Cillian Griffin to the U23 gold medal with a 6.91 performance.

In the Women’s Pole Vault, Una Brice of Leevale secured the Junior title with a vault of 3.35, while Sarah Derham (Lusk A.C.) claimed gold in the U23 group with a clearance of 2.70.

The Men’s Junior Pole Vault competition was closely contest throughout, eventually going the way of Conor Callinan of Leevale who cleared 4.30. Matthew Callinan Keenen (St. L. O'Toole A.C.) equalled the 4.30 in the U23 compettion to take the title.

Abbie Sheridan claimed her first individual National title in the Junior Women’s 3000m SC in a time of 11:01.44 for Ardee and District A.C. Roisin O`Reilly of Menapians A.C. was second, and Avril Cashman of Youghal A.C. third. Aoife Allen (St. Senans A.C.) took home the gold in the U23 event, crossing the line in 12:00.47.

Fionn Harrington continued his impressive form in securing the Junior Men’s 3000m SC title in 9:23.83. The Bandon AC athlete had already acquired the European Championship standard for the 3000m. Sean McGinley of Finn Valley was second with Mark Hanrahan of Ennis Track third. Brishan Le Goff O’Brien claimed the U23 title with a 9:39.33 performance.

Niamh O’Connor of Celbridge AC impressed in the U23 Women’s 3k Walk, claiming the title by taking to the front and opening up a gap on the field with 5 laps to go for a time of 14:43.38. Emily MacHugh of Nass took home the gold medal in the U20 group, finishing strongly for 14:49.50.    

Matthew Glennon (Mullingar Harriers A.C.) powered away to take the Junior Men’s 5K Walk title in 21.56. The Mullingar Harriers athlete had already secured a European U20 standard (10K) and his form bodes well heading into the next few weeks of preparation.

The Women’s 400m provided some of the finishes of the day with Racheal McCann North Down A.C. taking the U23 title in blustery conditions (56.58). Laura Crossan of Finn Valley A.C. was second in 57.41, with Laura Nally Galway City Harriers A.C. third in 58.02.

The Junior race was an even tighter contest, with Caoimhe Cronin (57.02) of Le Chéile A.C. battling to the line with Maeve O.Neill (57.15). Kate O`Connell took bronze for Lucan Harriers A.C. in 58.09.

Jack Raffferty is the U23 Men’s Champion, taking the 400m contest in impressive fashion in 47.68 for Donore Harriers. Cathal Crosbie (Ennis Track A.C.) took silver in 48.05, with David RYAN (Moycarkey Coolcroo A.C.) taking bronze in 49.04.  Callum Baird Ballymena & Antrim A.C. is the new Junior Champion, crossing the line in first place in 50.38.

The Men’s Javelin proved one of the highlights of the weekend, with Conor Cusack (Lake District Athletics) throwing 70.27 in a very consistent series of throws to take the Junior title. Lake District completed the clean sweep of medal with Diarmuid Duffy (53.92)and Oisin Joyce (50.00) taking the silver and bronze respectively. Gareth Crawford claimed the U23 gold with 65.13 for Lifford Strabane A.C.

Jennifer Hanrahan took the Junior 100m title in 11.85 for Tallaght A.C., with Katie Monteith (City of Lisburn A.C.) 12.06, and Lucy-May Sleeman (Leevale A.C.) 12.11 completing the podium.

Donore’s Aoife Lynch completed the sprint double in taking the U23 100m title in 11.76. Sarah Leahy of Killarney Valley A.C. was second in 11.90, with Caitlin Maguire taking the bronze back to North Belfast Harriers with 12.20.

The Junior Men’s 100m was ultra-competitive with several athletes claiming PBs. Israel Olatunde (UCD A.C.) cruised through the heats and secured gold in the Junior Men’s final with the fastest 100m on the day of 10.51.Conor Morey of Leevale looked just an impressive in taking the U23 title in 10.80.

Aoife Ó`Cuill of St. Coca's A.C. put in a super solo effort to come home in 4:29.96 in the Women’s 1500m. The St. Cocas athlete took gold in the U23 race, with Kate Nurse of U.C.D. A.C. (4:43.39) and Shona O`Brien (4:43.80) completing the podium.

Siobhan Whelan of Clonmel A.C. finished in 4:34.79 in the Junior race to take the national title. Rebbeca Rossiter was second for Loughview A.C. in 4:35.15, with Jane Buckley third for Leevale A.C. 4:35.65.

Three athletes went sub 4 minutes in the U23 Men's 1500m, with James Dunne looking super impressive with a run from the front to take gold in 3:52.35 for Tullamore Harriers. Donal Devane (Ennis Track) claimed silver 3:57.62, and Aaron Brennan (Galway City Harriers) 3:59.58 bronze.

Sean Donoghue (DCH) 3:53.46 and Nick Griggs (Mid Ulster A.C.) 3:53.54 served up a thrilling finish in the Junior race with the DCH athlete staying strong to the line to take gold. Dean Casey of Ennis Track A.C. was third in 3:57.51.

The action concluded with the 4 x 100m relays where the Irish relay teams posted 41.50 (men) and 48.63 (women).   

  • Men Relay Team: Cillian GRIFFIN, Robert MCDONNELL, Adam SYKES, Israel OLATUNDE
  • Women Relay Team: Elizabeth GAHAN, Lauren MCCOURT, Aisling KELLY, Lucy-May SLEEMAN

Full Results: Click HERE

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?