Athletics Ireland is delighted to announce that Mark Carroll, regarded as one of Ireland’s best ever middle distance athletes, will be honoured with the Hall of Fame Award at this year’s National Athletics Awards on Wednesday November 22nd at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Santry.

Born in 1972 Mark grew up in Knocknaheeney in County Cork and started his athletic education at the North Monastery under the guidance of athletics coach Brother John Dooley.

Carroll enjoyed a glittering career, announcing his arrival on the international scene by taking the European Junior Men’s 5,000m title in 1991 before going on to claim bronze in the 5,000m at the European Championships in Budapest (1998). Carroll would fulfil a lifelong ambition in the year 2000 when he won gold in the 3,000m at the European Athletics Indoor Championships in Ghent.

Carroll also boasts a win in the prestigious Wanamaker Mile (2000), but arguably the greatest race of Carroll’s career was in Monaco in 1999, when he set the Irish 3,000m record of 7.30.36 which still stands today.

The nominations for this year’s National Athletics Awards have also been announced. This year’s awards will celebrate the many successes of Irish athletes during 2023, while also commemorating the exceptional volunteer base who are the bedrock of the sport. The Athlete of Year will be selected from the athletes named as winner of the U20, U23, Endurance, Track, and Field categories.

Irish athletics has enjoyed a stellar year, and the 2023 nominations are sure to draw much healthy debate over the coming weeks as we build up to the awards ceremony on November 22nd.

Superb World Championship performances from Ciara Mageean, Rhasidat Adeleke, Sarah Lavin and the relays teams will live long in the memory, while the new generation of Irish athletes also made their mark, with Elizabeth Ndudi, Nick Griggs, Sophie O’Sullivan, and Sarah Healy all securing European medals at their respective championships this summer.

A truly record-breaking season has seen 90 records fall across all disciplines over the last ten months, eclipsing the previous record high of 81 records from the 2022 season.

U20 Athlete of the Year Nominations

  • Dean Casey
  • Nick Griggs
  • Oisin Joyce
  • Elizabeth Ndudi

Under 23 Athlete of the Year Nominations

  • Rhasidat Adeleke
  • Sarah Healy
  • Sophie O'Sullivan
  • Nicola Tuthill

Endurance Athlete of the Year Nominations

  • Dean Casey
  • Brian Fay
  • Nick Griggs
  • Darragh McElhinney

Field Athlete of the Year Nominations

  • Reece Ademola
  • Eric Favors
  • Kate O'Connor

Track Athlete of the Year Nominations

  • Andrew Coscoran
  • Sarah Lavin
  • Ciara Mageean
  • Sharlene Mawdsley

Other awards to be presented on the day include, Team of the Year, Club of the Year, Services to Coaching, Lifetime Services to Athletics, Official of the Year, and many more. National Athletics Awards

  • Wednesday November 22nd at 12.00pm.
  • Location: Crown Plaza Hotel, Santry, D09 X9X2
  • Tickets on sale here.
  • Dress code: Smart

If you have any queries please contact

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?