Relay Standards Achieved in Belgium


The inaugural IFAM Relays meet on May 26th proved to be a successful day for the National Relay Programme with three teams attaining European qualifying standards.

The U20 Women’s 4x100m team clocked a time of 46.28 when finishing 3rd in their heat. Their time was inside the European U20 championship standard of 46.40. The U20 Men’s 4x100m team were also inside the European U20 championship standard of 41.40, clocking a time of 40.70 on the way to a win in their heat.

In the U23 Men’s 4x400m the Irish quartet clocked a time of 3:08.56 and a 2nd place finish. This time was comfortably inside the European U23 standard of 3:12.00. There were also wins on the day for the Irish U23 Women’s and Men’s 4x100m teams and the Irish Women’s U23 4x400m team.

Well done to all squad members, personal coaches and national relay programme coaches.

U20 Women’s 4x100m: Awa Fane, Rhasidat Adeleke, Lauren Cadden, Adeyemi Talabi.

U20 Men’s 4x100m: Michael Farrelly, Conor Morey, Reality Osuoha, David Murphy.

U23 Women’s 4x100m: Kate Doherty, Sharlene Mawdsley, Aoife Lynch, Sarah Quinn.

U23 Men’s 4x100m: Mark Smyth, Cillin Greene, Eoin Doherty, Joseph Ojewumi.

U23 Women’s 4x400m: Sophie Becker, Jenna Bromell, Ellie O'Toole, Nicola Walsh.

U23 Men’s 4x400m: Christopher O'Donnell, Craig Newell, Shane Irwin, Cathal Crosbie.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?