Healy sparkles at National Indoor League Round 1


Round 1 of the National Indoor League was back with a bang at the Sport Ireland National Indoor Arena on Saturday January 11th.

There was some sparkling early season form with most notably a 7.31 and a PB for Joan Healy in the 60m. This was just 0.01 off a world standard and places Healy number 4 on the Irish all-time list.

Healy was up against some of our top female sprinters in what was a hugly competitive 60m race. The final 1-2-3 saw Healy of Leevale finish ahead of Molly Scott (St. L. O'Tolole) and Rhasidat Adeleke (Tallagh A.C).

1 Joan HEALY SEN W Leevale A.C. 7.31 0
2 Molly SCOTT SEN W St. L. O'Toole A.C. 7.42 0
3 Rhasidat ADELEKE SEN W Tallaght A.C. 7.49 0

There was also a utra competitive 60m mens race with Israel Olatunde coming out on top in a time of 6.92.

1 Israel OLATUNDE SEN M U.C.D. A.C. 6.92 0
2 Joe GIBSON SEN M Bandon A.C. 6.96 0
3 Micheal FARRELLY SEN M Raheny Shamrock A.C. 6.98 0

There were some inpressive performaces throughout the day with Sean Donoghue (Celtic DCH) taking the mens 1500m in 4:06.19 ahead of Barry Murphy (Galway City Harriers).

Jodie McCann (DCH) put in a brave front running performance to hold off Rachel Gibson (North Down A.C) in what was once of the races of the day in the 1500m. The two opened up a slight gap ahead of Ciara Wilson (DMP.A.C) before battling it out on the final lap.

1 Jodie MCCANN SEN W Dublin City Harriers A.C. 4:32.25 0
2 Rachel GIBSON SEN W North Down A.C. 4:32.37 0

3 Ciara WILSON SEN W D.M.P. A.C. 4:35.83 0

Nadia Power (DCH) showed her class in the 800m with a comfotable win in a time of 2.06.05.

1 Nadia POWER SEN W Dublin City Harriers A.C. 2:06.05 0
2 Sarah LANIGAN SEN W Galway City Harriers A.C. 2:18.15 0
3 Aoibhinn MCGOLDRICK SEN W Raheny Shamrock A.C. 2:18.21 0

There was also some great performaces in the field events with Michael Bowler continuing where he left off in 2019. Bowler managed a 4.30 to take the pole vault ahead of Peter Dunne and Luke Rice.

1 Michael BOWLER SEN M Enniscorthy Juvenile A.C. 4.30
2 Peter DUNNE SEN M Gowran A.C. 3.70
3 Luke RICE SEN M St. L. O'Toole A.C. 3.50

Saragh Buggy (St. Abbans A.C.) competeted in a number of events and took home first spot in the long jump with a PB of 5.95.

1 3 268 Saragh BUGGY SEN W St. Abbans A.C. 5.95 0 5.85 5.95 5.83 5.95
2 1 271 Karen DUNNE SEN W Bohermeen A.C. 5.03 0 4.91 4.94 4.89 5.03
3 2 275 Erika JUOZAPITE SEN W Blackrock A.C. 4.87 0 X 4.80 X 4.87

Full result available HERE

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?