Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers) and Ann Marie McGlynn (Letterkenny AC) produced dominant performances this morning to take the 2023 National Marathon Championship titles which took place in conjunction with the Irish Life Dublin Marathon (October 29th).

The men’s race saw Scullion break away from his national championship rivals heading into the Phoenix Park and the Clonliffe athlete never looked back as he picked his way through the field to clock the second fastest time of his life to cross in 2:11:51, a time which ranks as the fastest by any Irish man in the 42 editions of the Dublin Marathon.

Speaking after the race, the newly crowned champion said: “I definitely knew I could make the (overall race) podium, it’s not arrogance, or being cocky, but when you’ve put in the work, and the going starts to get tough, you know you’re going to be okay”.

He continued: “I raced a 70-minute half marathon five or six weeks ago but we knew there was more there, but you never know and I just needed to believe in myself”.

Ryan Creech (Leevale AC) rounded out his outstanding debut marathon season with a national silver medal to cross in 2:14:08, with cross country specialist Ryan Forsyth (Newcastle & District AC) picking up bronze in 2:14:43 on his first attempt at the distance.

Kemal Husan from Ethiopia was the first man home in the overall race in a winning time of 2:06:52, smashing the Dublin course record of 2:08:06 set in 2009.

Ann Marie McGlynn (Letterkenny AC) was a very popular winner of the women’s national title in a time of 2:34:13. McGlynn had twice made the national marathon podium before today’s performance and her finish-line celebrations left no doubt about how much today meant to the Letterkenny athlete.

Speaking after the race she said: “I manifested this from a year today. I knew this was my year and I just had to believe it. I trained and got injured but stuck at it. I tried not to get excited out there, but when the live stream cameras came on me I got a bit anxious. They went away then and I settled, and the second time they (live stream camera) came to me I was able to really embrace it. I’m so delighted, third time lucky”.

Mcglynn was followed home by Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers) who took silver in 2:37:08, with Sorcha Loughnane (Donore Harriers) picking up a superb bronze in 2:45:31.

The outright women’s winner was as convincing as the men, Sorome Negash from Ethiopia in complete control throughout, finishing in 2:26.22.

In the wheelchair race, Ireland’s Patrick Monaghan made it seven wins, finishing in 1:41:04, using this event in part as preparation for next Sunday’s New York Marathon.

2023 National Marathon Results


  1. Stephen Scullion (Clonliffe Harriers) 2:11:51
  2. Ryan Creech (Leevale AC) 2:14:08
  3. Ryan Forsyth (Newcastle & District AC) 2:14:43


  1. Ann Marie McGlynn (Letterkenny AC) 2:34:13
  2. Gladys Ganiel (North Belfast Harriers) 2:37:08
  3. Sorcha Loughnane (Donore Harriers) 2:45:31

Athletics Ireland would like to thank the Irish Life Dublin Marathon team for hosting these championships.

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?