Olympians Sarah Healy, Andrew Coscoran and recent European 3000m 4th place finisher Darragh McElhinney are just some of the athletes who began their athletics careers at the Cross-Country Schools’ competitions. This Saturday will see 900 athletes battle it out as they bid to follow in the footsteps of their heroes at the 123.ie All Ireland Schools’ Cross Country Championships which take place at SETU Sports Arena in Waterford (March 11th).

It promises to be another thrilling day of cross country action, getting underway with the minor girls race from 12 noon on Saturday (Call up 11.50am) where Renton twins Holly and Freya are sure to have plenty of support from Westport as they look to put on another exhibition of cross country running.

The junior and intermediates will follow, before the ‘not-to-be-missed’ senior races take centre stage with some intriguing races down for decision.

The senior boy’s race will feature Cormac Dixon (Holy Family Community School R'coole) who broke Darragh McElhinney’s U18 3000m record at the AAI Games in Athlone back in January (8.15.48). Dixon looked impressive at the Leinster cross country championships and is sure to be one of the leading contenders come 2.30pm on Saturday.

Niall Murphy leads out yet another strong looking team from St Flannans Ennis. Murphy excelled in taking the ever-competitive Munster championships and is sure to give his running once again at the weekend.

Others to look out for in the senior boy’s race include European U20 Cross Country star Jonas Stafford (Glendalough school), Padraig Corduff (Rice College Westport) who claimed the Connaught title, and Louie Woodger of Castleknock Community College.

The senior girls race looks just as competitive with a strong Munster representation set to take to the start line. Louise O'Mahony (Colaiste Muire Ennis) was first home in a stacked Munster championships which saw Avril Millerick (St Marys Midleton) second, and Nicole Dinan (St Angelas Cork) third. 

Hannah Kehoe of Loreto Kilkenny claimed the Leinster title and will likely go with the leading pack which will include the talented pair of Lucy and Kirsti Foster (Down HS Downpatrick).

Event Registration & Number Collection from 10.00am – 13.30pm in SETU Sports Arena

  • Connacht Schools Number Collection in Sports Hall
  • Leinster Schools Number Collection in Sports Hall
  • Ulster Schools Number Collection in Sports Hall
  • Munster Schools Number Collection in Sports Hall

Important Information

  • To view timetable online: Click Here
  • Event Tickets: To purchase tickets online: Click Here
  • Event Parking: Parking will be available at venue, please follow parking attendants. (Bus and Cars)
  • Live Entries & Results: Here (Entry List will be available in the coming days with live results on the day)

Newsletter sign up

Sign-up for the Athletics Ireland E-Zine with exclusive interviews, coaching news and offers!

Which of the following best describes you?